Love for My Friends

December 19, 2011 at 1:52 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , , )


My friends are awesome.  Three of them (one includes my sister but most of the time I consider her a friend too so whatever) saved me from having to go down to the post office and open a can of whoop ass over the weekend by letting me know sooner rather than later that their holiday cards did in fact arrive.  So USPS gets to live…this time.  A separate, equally awesome friend mailed me my first Christmas gift of the year over the weekend and it’s the best one I’ve gotten so far this season.  And not just because it’s the only one either – in fact, every other gift this year is going to have quite a lot to live up to, because he sent me 4 MASSIVE BAGS OF CHEEZ-ITS.  That’s right, he basically boxed up a slice of my version of heaven and had FedEx deliver it straight to my door.  I can only imagine that these two large boxes with two bags each originally came from someplace wonderful like Costco but it’s possible they passed through the hands of baby Jesus himself.  I have officially received enough of these addictive little crackers to last me through the rest of the year (probably…if I keep eating them like I did this weekend there’s just no telling.  I felt like Scrooge McDuck swimming through a pool of coins, only my pool involved Cheez-Its).

This is the look my boyfriend gets when he tries to eat my Cheez-Its

Also this weekend, a good friend of mine finished his secondary education and graduated.  He’s been in Chicago while his lovely bride lived 5 hours away and I am so happy that they’re finally back together and able to move forward in the direction they want.  I’m pretty bummed I wasn’t able to visit with them this weekend but I know how crazy busy they were and I understand.  I blew them kisses which of course I’m sure they received.

Speaking of couples that I adore, another gal pal of mine became engaged on Friday.  I was one of the lucky few to find out before Facebook so I consider myself privileged and I’ve seen this pair move in with each other and grow as a couple over the last year so I’m thrilled for them as well.  And since their big news will probably involve free food and booze for my face at some point down the road, I’m even happier.

A different lovely lady in my circle also had news this weekend but it’s of a different sort.  She’s moving to China.  This isn’t a massive shock but it’s happening sooner than we were ready for and it doesn’t look like I’ll get to see her before she goes.  Luckily, I would love to visit China so she’ll have me to deal with sometime soon (maybe before 2012 is out?  Only time will tell).

Big things are happening with the people I know and there seems to be something in the air.  I’m hoping this means that 2012 is a great year all around for everyone I know – the last few weeks of 2011 are certainly off to a good start!

And in totally unrelated news, I’m still going to the gym!  But my body kind of hates me.

 

Leave a Reply

