So It Begins

December 9, 2011 at 1:14 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )


As I woke up this morning and dragged myself out of bed, I did what I usually do and glanced outside as I was getting ready.  That was when I beheld a sight I haven’t seen since spring of last year – snow.  We made it to December 8 without any measurable snowfall (which is only the 8th time in like the last hundred years that this has happened) and we were all getting spoiled by dry streets and easy commutes.  Now it’s back to reality, which means back to walking like an old man on icy sidewalks when I’m wearing shoes that aren’t made for such inclement weather.

Where were these when I needed them?

Lesson learned.  I’m busting out the boots when I get home tonight.

Not that it matters because the snow is all melted now and it really wasn’t even that much to begin with – just enough to make walking slippery and put a pretty coating on everything in sight.  In my humble opinion, if it’s going to snow it needs to do it enough to really saturate things and create the winter wonderland that we all love so much (preferably enough to get me out of work as well).  Then, after one such snowfall, it can be gone for good.  In actuality we’ll be dealing with light snows like this as well as heavy pains in the ass for the upcoming…oh, probably six months, so it’s just getting started.  Awesome.

At least it didn’t start at Halloween?

Leave a Reply

