October Book Club

November 2, 2011 at 10:33 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , )


The ladies and I managed to gather again last week for an evening of wine, books and chatter.  We had two new girls join the group so it was nice to see our numbers swell a little and I’m pretty sure they’ll both be back!  Five of us met at Calo Ristorante, an Italian place not too far from my apartment.  I’d never been and the decor was a little fancier than what I was used to for our book club shenanigans but the prices were reasonable and the wine was cheap so my worries were for nothing.  I ordered the vegetable pasta in marinara sauce and it was quite good.

Not exactly what I was expecting but interesting nonetheless

There was asparagus, zucchini, squash, tomatoes and a bunch of other delicious veggies that I can’t seem to recall right now and they were perfect in the sauce.  There were two kinds of house bread served, one with garlic and one with cheese, and while I probably had too much of each of them it was totally worth it.  Pairing it all with a nice red wine made for quite a hearty meal.

The book we read was Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman.  I’d been wanting to read some of his stuff for a while and actually suggested the book myself.

Which was why I was a little confused when I picked it up from the library and saw it was a graphic novel.  I’m flexible so I rolled with it and then lent it to a friend who was one of the new club additions.  After we both finished it, we realized that it is actually a novel novel and the graphic novel was just an adaptation.  Which made a lot of sense because while what we read was entertaining, it felt like it was lacking significant depth.  Well, duh.  So we missed out on the novel but were able to have a new perspective on the book from the drawings in the graphic novel.  I’d actually like to go back and read the entire book now to make some sense of everything but I’ve got such a to-do reading list that I’m not sure I’ll get around to it anytime soon.

As always, the conversation was lively and just what I needed to round out a Thursday night.  We typically chat about what’s been going on in our own lives for a while and then (of course) talk about the book.  It’s a good time every month and something I always look forward to.  Our next meeting is also at a place near my apartment (read: within stumbling distance) and the book isn’t available in graphic novel form so I should be on the same page (oh how I hate this saying) as everyone else.

We make reading look cool!

Leave a Reply

