A Little Something

October 17, 2011 at 10:14 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


As I get back into the swing of blog writing (and be warned…I’m still in quite the funk over Catsby so my witty postings may be a bit fewer and farer between for a while), I figured I’d take it easy.  I promise to do a post on my trip at some point but today is focused on something I’m able to enjoy, no matter how sad I am – food.

I made this dish last night and it will be serving as breakfast for most of the week.  About 3 weeks ago I found a recipe that would help me use a bunch of yellow squash I had sitting around and this new creation stems from that.  Here’s what I used because I happened to have it on hand:

  • mushrooms
  • zucchini
  • butternut squash (this came in a microwavable bag mixed with cinnamon from Green Giant)
  • onion
  • buttery crackers
  • shredded cheese
  • vegetarian sausage
  • spinach

I’m not very good at following exact measurements or directions in general so I kind of just cut a lot of veggies and the no-meat sausage up and put it all in a bowl.  Then I took all the crackers, smashed them into a pulp with a potato masher and added roughly a half cup of the shredded cheese.  I then took the veggies and put them in the skillet with some olive oil and let them get nice and tender.  I added about half of the crackers and cheese midway through.

Look what I can do!

While the veggies were cooking I took two eggs, 1/4 cup melted butter and 1/3 cup milk and mixed it all together.  Then I tossed that all on top of the entire vegetable concoction and took all that and spread it into a glass baking pan.  After adding the rest of the crackers and cheese to the top, I threw the whole thing in the oven and then took a shower.  But you don’t need to know all that.

Roughly 20 minutes later, it was ready to eat.  Actually, it was ready to melt my tongue off so I had to wait a bit for the taste test.  Considering I kind of made it up as I went along, I’d have to say it was pretty damn good.  The bf and a work buddy both agreed so feel free to give it a shot on your own.  Play around with it too – I think that’s how some of the best dishes are born.  Enjoy!

1 Comment

  1. vodkaandmotherhood said,

    I love that you put crackers on top to give it that crunch…sounds yummy! Maybe I’ll try this one for my kiddos one night. Happy Monday!

    K.

    http://www.vodkaandmotherhood.com

Leave a Reply

