Things Fall Apart

September 28, 2011 at 10:46 am (Uncategorized) ()


Deep breaths.  That’s what I’m telling myself after emailing a simple question to the hostel I’ve booked for next Friday in Guatemala about the tour I’ve also booked to the volcano and receiving an auto-reply that both the hostel and the tour company are closed until November.  Um, what the flying hell?  I’ve already paid.  I thought this thing was set.  I leave in 9 freaking days and now I have nowhere to go and nothing to do.  Awesome.  At least I’m glad I emailed when I did so I didn’t show up to a shuttered building and lack of volcanic action.

So my options are basically scramble to book another hiking trip (if I can even find one) and hostel in the next few days or say screw it all and cancel the trip.  To be honest, the volcano overnight was the primary purpose in going and if that’s out of the picture entirely then I’m not sure what to do.  I know I could find a lot of cool stuff to do there anyway but I had my heart set on that volcano and if I can’t climb that then I might want to wait to go back until I can.  I mean, I only have so much vacation time and I want to get the most out of it.  Of course, if I cancel the flight I lose like $150.00.  However, I’m also hesitant to book anything else after this experience that I’m currently living.  I’m pissed and frustrated and not really sure what to do from here.  Oh, and I get to go have a mammogram after work.  Super fun day all around, huh?

Suggestions on the trip?  I’m all ears.

Leave a Reply

