It’s a Bird, It’s a Plane…

September 9, 2011 at 12:53 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


…it’s a movie being shot in my building!

Apparently, parts of the new Superman movie are being shot here in the Tower Formerly Known as Sears.  To be specific, The Daily Planet headquarters that Clark Kent works at will be filmed within these walls although they’ll be using the Chicago Board of Trade building as the exterior.

Do phone booths even exist in this city for him to change in?

I figured something was going on last week when a few huge semi trailers stationed themselves in the alley I take every day between the office and the train.  The trailers have all sorts of electrical looking equipment inside and there are also now a few bored looking men standing around with security hats and bright yellow vests, presumably to make sure no one hijacks the semis.  Which would probably be pretty difficult to do, in all honesty.  Anyway filming officially started on Wednesday and I’ve already seen cameramen working with the Tower security guards on locations and lighting and this morning I saw a large wardrobe rack on the lower level, which I can only assume was full of costumes.  I tried to spy the Superman suit but they shut the door before I could get a good look.  Sneaky bastards.

I guess it’s pretty cool that this is going on but I’d probably be more excited if it was a movie I was really into or featured actors that got me excited.  Where’s Joseph Gordon Levitt when I need him?  I’m not huge into the comic book movies but this might be one I have to see, if for no other reason than to say “Hey I work there!” or “Hey I once sneezed on that wall!”.  This isn’t the first movie to be filmed here in recent years (The Dark Knight, Transformers) but it is the first one to be filmed while I myself am working in the downtown area.  So it’s a little out of the norm and it’s a little exciting but unless it somehow causes me to earn a little extra money (which it won’t), I’m not too impressed.  And if they completely shut down the alley that I save myself precious minutes by walking through, I’ll be pissed.

Of course if JGL makes a special cameo appearance in my office all will be forgiven.  You hear that, Superman?

1 Comment

  1. Mega said,

    Still crossing my fingers for your kitty.

    And tell Superman he owes me eight bucks for that last “movie” that was made with him in it.

Leave a Reply

