The Robber

August 9, 2011 at 2:05 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


You may remember my fondness for The Music Box Theater, which I’ve blogged about once or twice.  I’ve seen some really cool movies there and most of them are independant so I often have no idea what I’m walking into.  This usually works in my favor but not always.

Robbed me of two hours of my life that I'll never get back...

So I ventured there with the new manfriend last Friday evening and we picked a foreign film neither of us had ever really heard of to sit and watch.  It was called The Robber and it’s about an Austrian marathon runner-turned-bank robber/murder.  It’s also based on a true story.  The premise itself is interesting enough and the idea of the fastest man in the country running from cops while dressed in a freaky looking mask and carrying a rifle seems relatively entertaining but the film itself was a bit of a let down.

We actually came close to missing the whole thing as my horrible sense of direction initially took us to the wrong theater.  We didn’t realize my mistake until the movie began and it was clearly being narrated by a cat (yes, you read that correctly).  After listening for 2.5 seconds and figuring out what was going on, we pulled a super smooth move and simply walked out of that theater and into the right one, about ten minutes after the movie started.  Perhaps we would’ve deemed the entire film Oscar-worthy if we had caught those first few frames but somehow I seriously doubt it.  It was just disappointing because the plot gave plenty of opportunities to turn this into an action-packed, adrenaline fueled film.  Instead, we got a movie where some guy ran for a while, stole some money, ran a bit longer, stole more money and then kept on running.  There was hardly any dialogue which in itself isn’t so bad but it may have helped break up some of the motonony.  There was a bit of a love story but even that could’ve been made more interesting.  By the end (SPOILER ALERT, though the chances of you seeing this are probably pretty low) I didn’t even care that the main character was dying a slow and painful death.  Because that’s how I’d been feeling for about two straight hours.

Eh, you win some and you lose some.  Hopefully my next gamble at that theater will turn out a bit better and even if it doesn’t, chances are you’ll read about it here!

Leave a Reply

