Uh, Whoops

August 2, 2011 at 10:15 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


So apparently I just came thisclose to having my power shut off.

When I moved, I made the switch on ComEd’s website and figured all was hunky dory.  I even had a confirmation number of the transfer so I assumed I was set.  I haven’t had a bill since then but since they sometimes send two months at once, I wasn’t exactly concerned.  Then on Friday I realized that the entire month of July flew by without my exactly realizing it and that’s when I remembered all of the sweet electricity and central air conditioning that I’ve been using.  For three months.  Without a bill.

This was almost me

I looked into my account and realized that while ComEd did terminate service at my last apartment, they never finished my request by putting the new service in my name.  I called the ComEd guy and he apologized profusely for the error while also assuring me that I wouldn’t be charged any type of late or connection fee (though of course I was still liable for everything since the first of May).  Which is fine and dandy but what he couldn’t tell me was what I could expect to pay once my first bill rolls around.  They won’t be reading the meter until the end of this month which means that the 16 hottest weeks of summer (including those awesome heat waves) will be lumped into once nice large sum.  I know that I can get on a payment plan if need be but I’m also just considering signing off to give them my first born child.  It might be cheaper.  And since I’ve never had central AC while living in Chicago, I’m not even sure if my own estimates are helpful or woefully off by hundreds of dollars.  I suppose time will tell.

In an ironic turn of events, when I got home Friday I had a letter from ComEd stating something along the lines of “We know you’re living there and using energy but not paying so give us all of your personal information and credit card number or we will be forced to invade your home with men in suits”.  I wasn’t too worried since I had taken care of everything hours earlier but I did find it a little funny that I happened to get the letter that day.  Had I received it any earlier I would have likely had a mild panic attack when I realized the error, rather than the wave of annoyance I instead dealt with.

Honestly, I’m just thankful my power wasn’t turned off in the middle of a 95 degree night when I’d have to lay in my own sweat and misery until morning.  Also I will be setting up a Pay Pal account to help offset the costs of my first electric bill and donations are welcome.

2 Comments

  1. Lee Ann said,

    I will donate my first born child as well if that helps! 🙂

  2. webpaige said,

    Yeah I should be getting that bill any time…can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

