Let the Summerfests Begin!

June 14, 2011 at 12:04 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )


I love Chicago summerfests.  Streets sectioned off so people can stand around, drink booze, listen to music, eat fried foods and check out local vendors…how does it get any better than that?

On Sunday, my two aforementioned friends who were visiting for the weekend decided to take another friend of mine, whose birthday it happened to be, to the festival in a neighborhood just blocks from my own.

You may not see me, but I was there

Andersonville is a ‘hood I haven’t had much time to yet check out so this was the perfect opportunity to play in the street and learn more about where I now live.  We wandered through cute clothing, antique, toy, kitchen and jewelery shops as we wove through the vendors and food booths and even the crowds of people, dogs and strollers didn’t get in our way.  We got lucky and the weather was the nicest day of the weekend so the huge cookie dough sundae that the Birthday Girl and I split was easily enjoyed.  As was the sangria, fried pickle spears, sweet potato fries, beer and falafel.  Not that I tried all of that….okay who am I kidding.  Of course I did.  It’s not like this is the time of year I should be worried about fitting into a swimsuit or anything.

Oh wait.

Anyway, the festival made me appreciate once again my newer, better living locale.  I thought about going to this fest last year but it would’ve required 2 bus rides and 45 minutes of my precious time just to get there.  A short not-even ten minute walk was so, so much better.  Just makes me even more excited to wander all over this place during the next few months and see what the other streetfests have to offer!

Leave a Reply

