Appreciate This!

May 10, 2011 at 11:51 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


As I’ve mentioned once or twice, I recently attended a Volunteer Recognition Ceremony and Reception at The Field Museum.  I will admit, I felt just a little like a bad ass.  There were a few hundred of us who showed up and we spent about 45 minutes in a rather large auditorium while some awards were passed out.  Volunteers who had been with the museum for 10, 15, 20 and even 30 years were honored with speeches and gifts and those newbies such as myself sat around watching and wondering if one day we could be there as long.  Well, at least that’s what I was wondering – there’s a good chance everyone else was thinking about the food and drinks we were served right after the ceremony.

Blurry but you get the idea - and if you look closely, you can see Sue the T-Rex in the background on the right!

Yup, we got served.  Since the current traveling exhibit at the Field is The Horse and the event took place near the beginning of May, the whole thing was Kentucky Derby themed.  To a Louisville-area raised girl such as myself, this made the night even better.  The food was amazing and spread out over 4 or 5 buffet tables.  There were a few types of salad, a grits concoction covered in cheese, beef brisket and a vegetarian equivalent, cornbread and much more.  As great as it all was, the open bar was just a little better and I enjoyed my fair share of mint juleps before the night was over.

To top it all off, there were bands and dancers providing the entertainment.  One group played a few banjos and another did some dancing that I think was supposed to represent how those down south get their groove on.  I was content to watch and drink.

The night was a lot of fun and it was a pretty big treat for those of us who often do the museum’s dirty work without getting paid.  It was a good way to mingle with some semi-familiar faces and let’s be honest, I’m always a fan of free food and drink.  Hopefully I’ll be attending many of these functions in the future and who knows – maybe one day my little white head will walk across the stage as I celebrate 20 + years of volunteering.  Which will be great, if I can manage to walk a straight line.

Leave a Reply

