All Packed Up and No Place to Go

April 19, 2011 at 11:10 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


There are 10 days until I move.

This is not me, as I actually think I'm kicking this move's ass

I have class until 9pm tonight, will be out-of-town Friday – Monday evening, have class next Tuesday until 9pm, will be attending a volunteer appreciation benefit at the Field Museum next Wednesday and am picking up my keys to my new place next Thursday night.  Movers will be at my apartment a week from Friday when I get home from work.  For those of you keeping score at home, that leaves me with two nights to finish shoving everything I own into various boxes and bags.  Am I worried?  Not really.  I have roughly 87% of my packing finished and really the only thing left is my kitchen/pantry area.  And of course cleaning, but that’s on the back burner until the place is entirely emptied out.

So yes, as I mentioned, I hired movers.  Considering my lack of vehicle and lack of desire to try to fit my queen sized bed on the bus, I thought this was the best option.  Especially since I’ll be moving from a second floor to a third floor (elevators do not appear to exist in Chicagoland apartments).  My plan is to stand around, with a wine glass in one hand and a french cigarette holder in the other, directing the three strong and burly men I’ve hired to be careful with my coloring books and monkey photos.  Yeah, that sounds about right.

Since I had to get such an early start on packing due to the crazy schedule I’ve made for myself, I’ve been sitting around staring at boxes for about a week.  It’s rather depressing.  It’s also frustrating as hell when I reach for something and realize it’s in a box and surrounded by tape.  Why I thought it would be a good idea to go ahead and pack up just about every writing utensil I own, I’ll never know.  Ditto for my extra tube of toothpaste.  Anyway, as moving will be taking over my life for the next few weeks you’ll likely find a few more blog posts referring to it in the coming days.  And while I may not be too worried about packing, I will admit that it’s still just a tad stressful.  I’m more than excited to move to my new ‘hood but there are things (coughTargetcough) that I’m going to miss as I leave them behind.  However, I won’t miss quite a few things as well and that list might make an appearance here later this week.  Either way, every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end (thanks Green Day) so this is no different.  If I can figure out where I stored my toothpaste I’ll be able to handle just about anything.

Leave a comment