Better Than the Alternative

April 14, 2011 at 11:01 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , )


I don’t know why but this week seems to be a week where my age is catching up with me.  I know I’m not quite geriatric yet and most of the time I still feel roughly 17 but a few nights ago I caught myself laying in bed, unable to sleep.  I usually have absolutely no problem catching those ZZZ’s but this particular evening my thoughts were racing a mile a minute.  What was I thinking about?  IRA’s and 401(k)’s.  I don’t even really understand what those things mean.  As I was trying to wrap my head around the idea of saving and investing for retirement, it hit me.  This is what grown-ups do and I am so not ready to be a real grown-up.  So I forced myself to think about The Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles and ice cream and I finally fell asleep.

Where is a Cub Scout when you need one?

Then last night, as I was walking home from helping out at the food pantry, I had some random thoughts streaming through my head and I started thinking about how I have four years before I turn 30.  Then I realized that that’s not entirely true and I’m actually already close to halfway through 27.  Whoops.  I thought that forgetting your age was something that happened to actual old people?  Guess I need to start practicing my “Get off my lawn!” yell.

The one other thing that’s been causing me to think about my age is the ever-increasing number of straight up white hairs on my head.  It started with just a few wisps in my bangs but the wonderfully flattering fluorescent lighting in our work restroom causes me to find new strands throughout the rest of my hair each and every day.  I know I could dye it but at this point I’m a little curious as to how white it will go.  Sort of like an anthropological experiment on my head.

I know these things aren’t really that big of a deal and I also understand that I’m not truly that old.  But I’m older now than when I began this blog post and it’s just going to keep getting worse.  Though, as the title says, it’s better than the alternative.  Now if I could just remember where I put my bifocals…

Leave a Reply

