R.I.P. Kurt

April 11, 2011 at 11:14 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


Today I’d like to pay a brief homage to Kurt Vonnegut, a writer from my home state of Indiana and someone who, over the years, has given me plenty to think about.  Besides being from The Crossroads of America, Vonnegut also studied anthropology in Chicago so he’s always been on my good side.  He’s also written some fascinating books and has given me more than one idea that I’ve learned from.  Here is his Wikipedia page if you’d like to learn a little more yourself and below are a brief few of my favorite quotes that he’s provided:

  • “I urge you to please notice when you are happy, and exclaim or murmur or think at some point, ‘If this isn’t nice, I don’t know what is.'”
  • “Hello, babies. Welcome to Earth. It’s hot in the summer and cold in the winter. It’s round and wet and crowded. At the outside, babies, you’ve got about a hundred years here. There’s only one rule that I know of, babies—God damn it, you’ve got to be kind.”

and my personal favorite:

Kurt Vonnegut 1922-2007

Vonnegut’s writing style is unlike just about anything else I’ve ever read and while it’s not for everyone, he resonates with me and has provided me with perspectives on life, death and everything in between that I probably wouldn’t have encountered elsewhere.  I wouldn’t call Kurt Vonnegut my absolute favorite author of all time but I’m quite proud to hail from the same state as he and I hope that one day my writings will also make Indiana proud.

And so it goes.

Leave a Reply

