Ring-A-Ding-Spring

April 7, 2011 at 11:40 am (Uncategorized) (, , )


It’s finally here!  Or at least, that’s what I’ve decided.  Here’s why:

And it's about damn time

  • Last night, I saw tulips blooming for the very first time all year
  • This morning, I watched workmen plant greenery along the streets downtown
  • I’ve been sweating in my winter coat and even left it at home most of the week
  • It’s actually still daylight when I leave the office
  • There’s been a lot of rain and a significant absence of snow
  • I’ve heard birds in the morning
  • The heaters at the train stops are shut off until November
  • I haven’t worn a hat in two weeks
  • Allergies are attacking my face

As I become more and more familiar with Chicago weather, I realize that the above list really means nothing.  There’s just as much of a chance that it will hit 80 degrees this weekend as there is that we’ll see snow, so my hopes aren’t up too high.  Still, the 10 day forecast predicts highs in the 50’s and since that is so much better than highs hovering around freezing, I’ll take what I can get.

Bring on the sun, bring on the warmth!

Leave a Reply

