Great Grandparents

April 5, 2011 at 12:54 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )


This post is actually about my grandparents but they’re pretty great, hence the title.

Not quite the level of my grandparents...

I love all of my grandparents and I know how lucky I am that all four of them are still alive and kickin’.  They’re all in their 80’s and they’re all relatively healthy but every now and then something will happen to remind me that I’m dealing with someone of an entirely different generation.  This happened last week when I called my Mema and Papa for our weekly chat.  I called them at home and when Papa picked up he told me that he had his cell phone in his hand and was actually about to call me (one of my worthless superpowers is having the ability to call someone exactly when they’re thinking of me).  Mema got on the other line and we started our typical conversation, with me trying to out shout the volume on their TV.  At this point, a number I didn’t recognize beeped through and since it wasn’t familiar I just ignored it.  After a few more minutes, the voicemail prompt “Dial 1 if you are not satisfied with your greeting…” came over the line and thoroughly confused all three of us, because I thought I had face-dialed someone’s voicemail and the grandparents simply didn’t know what was going on.  I quickly figured out what was happening and asked Papa if he had actually dialed my number before I called.  Since he buys those pay-as-you-go phones that always change numbers, I didn’t recognize it when he was calling.  Once we realized that his phone was still on, I walked him through how to shut the whole thing off for good.  These kinds of things can be complicated for some members of The Greatest Generation and I kind of chuckled to myself as the three of us finished our conversation.

Once we hung up, I saw I had a voicemail.  You probably know where this is going.

Upon checking it, I heard an entire playback of the first half of the conversation I’d just had, only from my Papa’s point of view hearing, since Mema does the majority of the talking when they’re both on the line.  I couldn’t help but melt a little bit over the adorableness of it all and I saved that sucker for future enjoyment.  This is just another reason why my grandparents are pretty damn awesome.

Leave a Reply

