March Monday Madness

March 15, 2011 at 12:32 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , )


As I mentioned in my last post, I signed my lease on my new apartment yesterday.  In a shocking display of ambition, I also did quite a few other things that had been hanging over my head.  Because I’m just so gosh darn proud of myself, I figured I should document it here:

  • I finished my taxes!  Though I’m still not entirely certain I did them right, they’ve been accepted by the IRS and my refund is pending.

    I seriously love getting to check things off my list

    Woohoo for free money I’ve already paid for!

  • I finished my freelance writing assignments for the month and sent them off.
  • I cleaned out under my bed.  This was huge and something I’d been meaning to do for roughly 1.5 years.  Because I’m so excited about my move, I’ve decided to tackle my apartment a little at a time and the bed was on the list for this week.  I found all kinds of things I’d long since hidden – college research and papers, random photos, love letters from loves gone by and a flashlight I thought I’d lost.  I also found lots of cat hair that Catsby hid too, so that was awesome.  I managed to get rid of 1.5 boxes of stuff and condense just about everything else.
  • Speaking of the flashlight, besides finding what I assumed was long gone, I was able to locate some AAA batteries and get it up and working.  Which came in handy because my power was out this morning (story for another day).
  • I removed a piece of broken furniture from my room and took it to the dumpster.  It’s not horribly busted so hopefully someone will take it and give it a loving home but it was time for it to move on out of my bedroom.
  • I was in the process of removing what I thought was a broken lamp when inspiration struck and I managed to fix it – all by myself!  This is a favorite lamp of mine (it’s in the shape of a monkey, so of course it has a special place in my heart) and it had been broken (or so I stupidly thought) for months.  That means for months I’ve been using my cell phone to read in bed at night.  Well, apparently I’m a rather large idiot because it wasn’t that difficult to fix once I really looked at it.  That’s when I  said, “Let there be light!”
  • I cleaned my bathroom.
  • I talked to a great friend of mine for the first time in what felt like forever and we got nice and caught up.
  • I finished a bottle of wine.

So that last one might not be a huge accomplishment but after everything else I did yesterday (including working my regularly scheduled 8 hours) I felt it was much deserved.

I won’t be near as productive this evening but I will be getting a private tour of the Shedd Aquarium as the last class in the first of 3 courses I’m taking draws to a close.

*Insert joke about Chicago gangsters helping people sleep with the fishes here*.

Leave a Reply

