Pizza Pizzazz

February 9, 2011 at 1:14 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


According to aol.com, a pizza was created to celebrate the most recent Super Bowl.  Half is made with cheese (tangent: I just spelled that cheeze because of my unhealthy addiction to Cheeze-Its) and pickles and the other half is ketchup.  Ketchup.  I know that it’s relatively close to tomato sauce and I’m even a fan of ketchup myself, but really? That side is supposed to represent the Pittsburgh Steelers, since Heinz is one of their big sponsors and is the name behind their field.  The pickles are in honor of the old Green Bay nickname, the ‘Green Bay Pickle Packers’.  Of course.  Apparently the guy behind the pie has been doing some sort of Super Bowl hybrid pizza for years.  Last year it was Cajun seafood jambalaya for New Orleans and half horse meat jerky for the Colts.  Yum.

Delish Dish?

I’m going to gloss over the fact that the business website the AOL article links to looks like it was made by a 12-year-old and has the word bongwater in the address.  I’m choosing not to comment on the other related articles, which all claim that a few years ago this guy planned to try to market pizzas with actual road kill for toppings (though I can’t find any record of whether or not he ever did it…).  I’m also not going to say anything about the pizza company other than it’s Road Kill Pizza and features a cartoon of a small squished mammal sporting tire tread.  I’m just going to leave all of this information here for you to ponder while you decide if you could every try this yourself.  Technically it’s vegetarian so I could eat it…but I’m not a fan of pickles and the thought of ketchup on my pizza made me gag a little.  To each their own though.

Would you try this pie?

Leave a Reply

