Snowed In, Bowled Over

February 2, 2011 at 3:59 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


Can’t talk much today as I’m trying to dislodge the foot that’s in my mouth so I can eat my own words.

The snow came, it saw and it conquered.  I left work early and as I walked the 15 minutes from the train to my apartment, the wind tore tears from my eyes and stuck them to my face.  It also damn near knocked me over on more than one occasion.  Lake

This is the street in front of my apartment

Shore Drive officially shut down, stranding motorists for 9 hours or more.  CTA buses and firefighters went to try to rescue people and then the buses got stuck too.  People ran out of gas.  They peed in bottles (well, I haven’t heard that one for a fact but I would imagine they’d have to).  They abandoned their cars.  Part of Wrigley Field’s roof blew off and landed in the street.  Windows were sucked from their rubber casings in all the wind.  Some lost power for over 12 hours.  I experienced thundersnow for the first time in my life and Chicago Public Schools were canceled for the first time in 13 years.  And can I just say, seeing thunder and lightning during an actual blizzard is pretty intimidating…apparently, this snow storm wasn’t messing around.

There’s over 17 inches of snow outside my building and some drifts are much higher than that.  I’ve never seen this much snow in my life.  I took some pictures and tried to wander around but most sidewalks ended in huge drifts that I would have to climb to get over.  There’s just no place for all the stuff to go. And with temperatures hovering near 10 degrees the next day or so, it’s not melting anytime soon.  But wait, how did I get these pictures on a work day?  That’s right folks, the Blizzard of ’11 gave me a paid day off during my birthday week!  Thank you, Blizzard, I do appreciate it  Now I’m going to bake some brownies, curl up with my book and enjoy the fact that I don’t have to shovel my sidewalk.

1 Comment

  1. Mega said,

    grow a beard

Leave a Reply

