Bad News Bears

January 25, 2011 at 11:36 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


So there was a football game here in the city on Sunday and apparently it was sort of a big deal.  As you may remember from this post from roughly this same time last year, I’m not much of a football fan though I’ve been known to jump on a bandwagon or two in my day.  Subconsciously, I knew the game between the Chicago Bears and the Green Bay Packers

Bears are Down

would be a big deal but I don’t think anything could’ve prepared me for just how much everyone around here cares.  It blew me away.

The only association I had with the playoff game was that it disrupted my regularly scheduled time at the Field Museum, since the Field is literally across from Soldier Field.  They didn’t need me to come in and volunteer because the whole place was empty due to the game – this was fine by me, as I’ve been battling a cold for a week and could use the extra couch/recuperation time.  Even with the frigid temperatures I was surprised at how many people ventured out to the stadium and various bars around the city to root for the home team.  I didn’t join in any of those festivities myself, though I did flip back and forth a few times to catch the score as I was watching movies on TV (first The Majestic then Space Cowboys…told you I was sick).  I saw from the get-go that things weren’t going well for the Bears and the 95% game-related status updates on Facebook confirmed it.  I quit watching after a while and didn’t miss much.  The loss hasn’t really had an impact on my life but it’s amazing how dejected many around the city seem to be.  I know it was a big deal and all but I just can’t muster the disappointment.  I’ll pretend to care, at least a little bit and mostly near the water cooler, but that’s the best I can do.

Does my apathy towards Chicago sports mean I get my citizenship revoked?  I sure hope not.  I like pizza and mobsters so hopefully that’s enough for the city to let me stay.  If not – well, I always have next year to get back in the game.

Leave a Reply

