Outrageous News Story

January 21, 2011 at 12:33 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


This is sad, tragic, horrible and unnecessary all rolled into one.  Sorry it’s not a happy one to help lead you into the weekend but sometimes reality bites.

A woman in Colorado has been arrested because her infant son drowned in their bathtub while she was playing on Facebook.

It almost made me sick just to type that.

What in the hell?  Apparently, this 34-year old woman had gotten into the habit of leaving her son alone while he was bathing “because he really wanted to be left alone; he was a very independent baby. ..she knew what it was like to be told no, she didn’t want her baby to be told no and didn’t want him to be known as a mama’s boy.”  Uh, once again, what the hell?  I’m no child expert and I know how trite it is for childless people to give parenting advice, but even I think this is a bad idea.  I know this is an awful, unfortunate accident but I think it really speaks for how addicting online life can be.  I know I check my Facebook page more times in any given day than I’d care to admit and I know many stay-at-home moms use it as a way to feel less isolated throughout their own days.  I get it.  I just think a little responsibility and control goes a long way.

This also makes me hate Facebook even more (yes, we’re involved in a twisted love/hate relationship).  Obviously it doesn’t bother me enough to delete my entire account though – oh no, those bastards over there have made it much too easy to stay in contact with just about everyone on earth with just the click of a button.  Perhaps I should try to wean myself off?  Deactivate it for a week and see how it goes?  We’ll see.  Meanwhile, it’s going to be hard to log in and not think about the little 13-month old boy who lost his life because his mom was hanging out in a cyber-cafe.

1 Comment

  1. Debbie said,

    Yes, some people CAN live without faceook.

Leave a Reply

