Dozin’ with the Dinos!

January 18, 2011 at 12:16 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


If I had been a child in Chicago, I guarantee that I would’ve participated in this program at the Field Museum.  Dozin’ with the Dinos is an overnight camp that allows kids and families to stay for an entire evening at the museum.  I just began volunteering for it and my first night helping out was Friday – and it was probably the coolest thing I’ve done in a while.

I arrived and changed into my super official T-shirt, then went off to greet the kids and their families.  The kids were between the ages of 4 and 12 and there were numerous Girl Scout, Boy Scout and school groups in attendance.  I’m not going to lie, the kids were pretty freaking cute…I had a lengthy

Sweet dreams

conversation with one little girl about fossils and dinosaur bones and a chat with a boy about how not everything you see in a museum is always real (authentic).  Then, as I was helping one family set up their sleeping bags in the Dinosaur exhibit, the power went out.  That section was on a timer and someone apparently forgot to turn it off so off I went to try to rectify things.  I had to navigate my way out of the exhibit in the dark but since it was one of my absolute favorite ares (all about evolution!) it was actually supremely cool.  I was completely alone and it was totally quiet and only mildly creepy.  That was probably the highlight of my night but the rest of the activities were pretty fun too.  Oh, and someone turned the power back on as soon as I found my way out.

The workshop I worked involved helping kids recreate a few Native American tools.  Since the Native Americans used wood and stone and we used paper plates and tape, they replicas didn’t work or look quite as well as the originals but I think (most) of the kids enjoyed it anyway.  The time flew by and before I knew it, it was time for us to pack up and go home.  While many volunteers stay the whole night, us newbies have to go through a few runs before we’re allowed to sleep over.  Which is fine because my bed is just a little more comfortable than my sleeping bag.

I’ve got one of these nights scheduled pretty much every months until sometime in the summer, so that’s something to look forward to.  I kind of wish that they allowed grown-ups to do this sort of thing but I was once told that a few years ago, there was a party there, people had a little too much to drink and were caught committing very adult acts in very inappropriate places.  So apparently we can’t be trusted with staying there for a whole night.  Makes sense.  I’m okay hanging out with the kids though and I’m already excited for my next night there!  I just need to remember a flashlight this time.

2 Comments

  1. Mega said,

    Sleeping with dinosaurs? For a second there, I thought this was gonna be about hooking up with older people. Ha!

    • webpaige said,

      Ha no the Hugh Hefner types don’t really do it for me.

Leave a Reply

