Christmas Shenanigans

December 28, 2010 at 2:02 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


I’m home, happy and exhausted.

My Christmas was everything I was hoping and needing to be, plus just a little bit more.  I spent four nights in my childhood home (but not my childhood room, as that no longer has a bed in it…I alternated between my sister’s old room and the couch) and while my time visiting family never feels long enough, it was good while it lasted.  I got to spend some quality time with my mom, sister, grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins and cousin’s kids, not to mention a few old friends who are near and dear to my heart.  I also spent a little not-so-quality time breaking up fights between my cat and my mom’s own three, so that was fun.

Speaking of cats, I was treated to a symphony of cries and wails for five hours each way of my trip.  You may remember that I rented a car, which seemed like a good idea at the time.  And it did make the most sense, especially given the

Cat ride from hell

amazing amount of loot I made out with (I think Santa forgot his medication and assumed I was much better than I really was).  Driving also meant I was able to bring back leftovers, and if you have family who cook as well and as much as mine does, you know how important that is.  I came back with two full bags of mashed potatoes, green bean casserole, corn casserole, sweet potatoes, stuffing, pie, cookies and tea.  So I suppose that made it worth the grand total of 10 hours spent listening to my cat sound as though someone had ripped off her tail and smacked her around with it.

The car I rented was the most basic of the basic but it did have a CD player.  Before hitting the road, I busted out my old CD collection from high school so I could listen to some sweet tunes on the ride.  They’re roughly 10 years old and brought back some good memories.  Unfortunately, I didn’t find one that shut up my cat.  Over the course of my eternally long ride with my whining cat, I determined that she did not appreciate the following:

  • Third Eye Blind
  • Eve 6
  • Tom Petty
  • No Doubt
  • The Wallflowers (actually, during Sixth Avenue Heartbreak she briefly quit crying.  I tried to put it on repeat but it didn’t last)
  • Green Day
  • Everclear
  • De La Soul
  • Weezer
  • John Coltrane

An eclectic mix, sure, and not one that ceased the howls coming from the backseat.  At one point I considered pulling over and wringing a furry little neck but I was making good time so decided against it.

At least I have my leftovers.  And a burn on my chin from taste testing my Papa’s dumplings, but that’s a different story.

1 Comment

  1. szoso said,

    I love that your highschool music collection resembles mine. But you know all would have been fixed with the healing powers of Zeppelin right?

Leave a Reply

