Overheard at the Office

December 16, 2010 at 1:45 pm (Uncategorized) (, )


So I was sitting in my cubicle this week, working away like usual.  It’s generally pretty quiet around the office and I can hear people on the phone quite often.  I could see a client out of the corner of my eye and he seemed to be making a commotion in the lobby, which isn’t that far from where I sit.  He was on his phone and I guess his connection wasn’t that great (I don’t know why but the cell service up there pretty much sucks) and so he got louder, because of course that always works when the reception is bad.  This is what I heard him say:

“I don’t know why you can’t hear me!  I’m up here in the Sears Tower – I’m on top of the world, Ma!”

There was also elaborate gesticulation. 

The man who said this was a stereotypically “macho” guy and this was basically the funniest thing that happened at the office all week.  Is that sad?  I don’t know about that but I do know that my cubicle-neighbors and I got a good chuckle.  I can’t laugh too much though because he was genuinely excited and that’s sometimes how I feel about being up there every day too!

1 Comment

  1. Mega said,

    I can see the parking lot from my 3rd story window. Its no Sears Tower view, but it works for now.

Leave a Reply

