Secret Santa’s are a Girl’s Best Friend

December 15, 2010 at 11:47 am (Uncategorized) (, , )


I took part in a Secret Santa exchange this year and it made me feel like I was a five-year old kid with a speech impediment again.  My gift came from a complete stranger, as there’s a social/news sharing website I frequent that put together the entire event.  I’ve tried to think of how I can explain this website in a way that doesn’t sound crazy but I can’t, so I’ll just say that it’s a place where good people come together to talk about interesting/nerdy/silly things.  Also, I won’t be posting the link to it here because I don’t really want my two worlds to collide.

Anyway, last week I received my gift from the person who randomly got my name.  I know what their return address is but that’s it – and they sent me some awesome stuff.  Everyone in the exchange has a profile and you’re able to link to your blog, website etc, so I provided a  link here.  And I think they read it because here’s the super cool stuff that arrived in the mail:

They were so pretty! But the wrapping paper was covered in glitter. I could've done without that...

After changing into clothes that could handle a dousing of glitter, I giddily began tearing into the package.  I should mention here that during this time I was talking to a friend of mine on my phone, since we happened to be chatting when I got home and found the package.  This is why I said I felt like I was the kid with the speech impediment again – because I was so excited I was tripping over my words even more than usual and I could barely get out a complete sentence.  Little by little, I discovered my presents:

Ohboyohboyohboyohboyohboy

It’s almost weird how well this person got to know me through the things I put online…best not to think about that…

In case you can’t quite tell, here’s the rundown of the absolute coolest gift I’ve gotten from a stranger, ever:

One box of iced animal crackers, two packets of Cheez-Its, a miniature Voodoo Doll, cat toys for Catsby, a $20 gift card to Trader Joe’s, an ornament from The Metropolitan Museum of Art  (my Secret Santa lives in NYC), a very nice card (the orange envelope is an inside joke on the website) AND best for last – a handmade magnet with twelve different pictures of Joseph Gordon-Levitt!!

What, you thought I was joking?

This is now on my desk at work.  ❤

So obviously, I was more than a little amazed by my gift and my faith in humanity was more than a little restored.  And what did I get for the guy whose name I received?  Well, he’s a 19-year-old dude living with his parents in Miami, so I basically went through his previous posts on the site and came up with enough to put in a box.  At one point he referenced this stuff and was bummed because it was all sold out.  They had some in stock when I found his post so I ordered that and found some foodstuffs he likes as well (Oreos, pumpkin pie mix etc.).  He also mentioned in one of his posts that he was a little constipated (and I thought I shared a lot) so I sent him some stool softener too.  Finally, I made him a card.  This many not sound so special but once I figured out he liked Halo, Battlestar Galactica, Star Wars and various other shows/bands/books/movies/video games, I found pictures of said things, cut them out and made a huge card collage.  Yes, it was awesome, and I happen to have it on good authority that he absolutely loved it.

The whole thing was good, clean fun and I plan on doing it again.  They did a summer gift exchange this year and hopefully there will be a repeat of that.  I know some people who didn’t receive anything though and that makes me sad but my experience was pretty great and got me even more in the holiday spirit.  Bah Humbug be damned!

Leave a Reply

