Brunch on a Budget

December 13, 2010 at 1:44 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


There are a ridiculous amount of places to find a great brunch in Chicago but sometimes staying in your own kitchen is the best idea there is.  Yesterday was a certifiable blizzard here in the city and when I woke up hungry, the very last thing I wanted to do was venture outside in blinding snow and wind gusts of up to 50 mph.  Luckily, I went grocery shopping last weekend (thanks again for the ride, Mom!) and so was able to put together a meal of my own.

No cereal for this girl

Looks good, huh?  I took three eggs, mixed it with a tiny bit of milk, some spicy seasoning and red pepper and threw it into a pan.  I also chopped cherry tomatoes, spinach and mushrooms and tossed them into the pan as well.  Once things were cooking, I added a bit of avocado and goat cheese and began toasting my wheat bread.  I then slathered on some Joe Huber Apple Butter (and if you’ve ever lived anywhere near Southern Indiana you know how good that stuff is – obviously, even I couldn’t wait to try it) and peeled a tangerine.  With a glass of orange juice, I had a delicious meal in about 20 minutes and didn’t have to step foot out of my apartment.  I also had a bit of strawberry yogurt with some granola but as I ate that while cooking the rest, it didn’t last long enough to make it into the pic.

Looking at this post, I’m struck by a bit of deja vu and am now wondering if I’ve posted this exact same breakfast before.  I mean, yesterday wasn’t the first time I made it.  Hmm.  Apologies if I have – it’s Monday and I’ll use that as an excuse.

Leave a Reply

