The Five Days of Thanksgiving

November 22, 2010 at 3:41 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


I try to find something to be thankful for almost every day but this time of year always makes me think.  I understand how lucky I am just to have the opportunities and freedoms that I do and I figured I’d take this

Friendships should be celebrated, even if they don't make much sense

week to do a little countdown list of five things I’m always thankful for.  For instance, I’m thankful for my awesome friends!

I was able to spend my weekend with no fewer than seven old college classmates, all of whose company I sometimes I forget how much I enjoy.  I know some truly wonderful people here in the city and I’ve got others stationed all over the country who are near and dear to my heart.  It’s not always easy to maintain friendships over time and distance but somehow I’ve managed with more than a few old pals and I consider myself lucky that I’m still able to be a part of their lives.

My friends are also cool.  They do things like go to medical or graduate school, work horror movie conventions,  volunteer, sit on nonprofit committees, play beautiful music and read more interesting books than even I could hope to get through.  They’re also fun, smart, creative, fabulously good-looking and pretty much all of them are always there for me when I need them.

If you’re reading this blog then chances are I consider you a friend, so I’m thankful for you too.  I’ll take a little time today to send a hug in your general direction and maybe you could send a nice thought or two towards someone else who warms your heart.  And thank you for being a friend!

Leave a Reply

