Another Little Pick Me Up

November 16, 2010 at 1:38 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )


If you recall, I wrote a review a while back about a little place that serves great warm beverages and fantastic food.  I got breakfast the first time I was there and ventured out on Saturday because I needed a cozy spot with no distracting wi-fi to do some writing, plus I was hungry and I haven’t been grocery shopping…since around the time I got back from Mexico (yeah, I know).  I wound up spending almost three hours in the place and besides being just a little jazzed on all the caffeine, I left knowing there was no way in hell I would’ve been able to make such a delicious meal, even if I did have food in my apartment.

Let me preface this by saying I love sandwiches.  As in, I adore them and want to have ten thousand of

I considered wrapping up leftovers to take home and place in a shrine, but I'd be lying if I said there was anything left

their babies.  I will inhale just about any vegetarian concoction put between two pieces of bread and even though I don’t incorporate lunch meats into my meals, I never feel cheated.  Peanut butter and jelly is good and bread loaded with hummus, spinach and other vegetable delights is better but I’m honestly happy with just plain cheese.  You can even ask my mom, because that’s what I ate for the first few years of my vegetarianism (this was back when my family assumed I was just going through a phase, like when I always thought I was getting left in a grocery store and would page my parents over the intercom…which I’m sure was annoying for my parents as well).  Okay the point is – I love me a sandwich.

So imagine how thrilled I was when I saw a BBQ Seitan Sandwich on the menu at the Pick Me Up Cafe (for those of you not in the know, seitan is wheat gluten…or wheat meat, if you will).  It came loaded with lettuce, tomato, sprouts, goat cheese, some sort of mayo sauce and lots of barbecue sauce.  Since I’m limited on the veggie-friendly meals I can order out that include that wonderful sauce made from vinegar, molasses and mustard, I took the opportunity to enjoy it while I could, and enjoy it I did.

Which might have had a little something to do with the mashed potatoes as well.  Gravy on mashed potatoes is something else I can’t order in the real world very often, as most of the restaurant gravy I’ve encountered is based in some sort of animal stock.  In another reason why I love places that really cater to us herbivores, Pick Me Up had a mushroom gravy that was a perfect complement to both the potatoes and the main course.

Tangent time: when I was in high school, I befriended a lunch lady who would make a plain white gravy for me almost every day, because she knew how much I loved our school mashed potatoes (they were legendary).  The lady in question stood by my side when I created a petition to get the cafeteria to sell vegetarian chicken patties and other meat alternatives and she even helped me pick some out when my petition went through.  Her name was Mrs. Bickwermert, she had cute hair and she made my high school years  better.

Tangent time over.  The meal I had was amazing and I was able to knock out my assignments with a full and satisfied stomach.  It was exactly what I needed – a little pick me up on a work filled weekend!

Leave a Reply

