Observations from the Top

November 15, 2010 at 1:30 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )


Just a few things I’ve noticed from my one full week of working in the Sears Willis Tower:

 

The view from my new place of employment - please excuse the blur but I think it's highly appropriate as it's directly over my true love, the Field Museum

  • It’s big.  Really, really big
  • My ears pop every single time I use the elevators (so like 6 times a day, minimum)
  • It’s weird working in a cubicle.  I think the girl next to me is talking to me all of the time but she’s really hooked up to a head set and could probably care less about what I’m doing
  • All I really want to do is look out the window at Lake Michigan and Field Museum
  • There are more places within walking distance to eat than I ever thought possible and I will never, ever get to even a fraction of them.  Especially since I usually bring my lunch
  • My new office place gives me free coffee, tea and hot chocolate.  I really like hot chocolate
  • I’ve seen many rooftop gardens from the windows I peer out of.  That makes me happy
  • I have to use a photo ID badge to get to the elevators.  It makes me feel important
  • It takes almost a full five minutes to get to my desk after I walk in the front door.  And that’s with those super fast elevators
  • Speaking of elevators, they’re all mirrored and so they force eye contact with pretty much anyone else who happens to be sharing the shuttle with you.  However, there’s a small television screen in every elevator that displays weather, time and news, so there’s always something to divert your attention
  • The elevators in this place take up a large part of my life in the building
  • People look right sexy when they’re dressed up in business wear

Of course, these are just a few of my observations in the new workplace.  Since I’m still acclimating and all I’ll keep the majority of my thoughts to myself, but I can tell you right now that it’s nice waking up later in the mornings and coming home earlier at night.

Even if it does get dark before I clock out for the day.

Leave a Reply

