Did Santa Come Early?

November 4, 2010 at 2:22 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )


Since I was out of town last weekend, I had a couple of my wonderful and amazing friends stopping by to check on the diabetic kitty.  I was in contact with said friends throughout the weekend to make sure all was well and at one point they mentioned they brought in my wreath for me too.  Wreath?  I ordered no wreath.  Figuring it belonged to a neighbor and was delivered to me by accident, I didn’t think much of it.

When I got home, the wreath was sitting in my living room, wrapped in a huge black garbage bag.  No note, no tag.  I wrote notes for my neighbors saying I had a large piece of shrubbery that could belong to them and then I sat back to wait until someone came by to claim it.  No one showed.

So now my front door looks like this

Where did it come from?  How did it wind up leaning against the door to my apartment, where my friends found it?  Someone with a key must have taken it from wherever it originated and brought it up to me.  What the crap is going on?

I have no clue but since it’s a good-looking wreath I hung it up and plan on keeping it.  However, when I was discussing my mysterious gift with my mom last night I was reminded of my pine allergy.  This thing is made with pine and even has little pine cones for decoration.  Though I don’t think a wreath is enough to do much damage (though if it had arrived three weeks ago it would help explain my weird eye issue) but it makes the entire thing a bit more curious.  I’m pretty sure I told the story of my reaction to pine a few blog posts ago…so did one of you send it to me as a joke?  Or are you trying to make me sick with allergies?  Maybe it’s purely coincidental and my landlord gave it to me because I’m his favorite tenant.  Perhaps Santa really did come early and since a wreath is prettier than coal, I shouldn’t complain.  Well, no matter how I got it I’m going to display it until its rightful owner comes to claim it or the whole damn holiday season is over.  I just wish I knew where it came from…

1 Comment

  1. szoso said,

    Whatever you do- DO NOT walk into it. If you do-Keep your eyes closed!

Leave a Reply

