R.I.P. Walkman

October 25, 2010 at 11:02 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )


Such a sign of the times.

Sad Walkman

Surely you remember your first Walkman.  This is the great-great grandfather of the i-pod and was all the rage with the cool kids in the ’80’s (it was introduced in July of 1979).  My first Walkman played many a mixed cassette tape (it boggles my mind to know that there are college-aged people out there who don’t know what I’m talking about here) and was attached at my hip for years.  When the Discman came out in the early 90’s, I too was thrilled with the ability to now listen to my CD’s outside of my bedroom or car.  The Walkman never lost its place in my heart though and I always remembered my portable music roots.

The Walkman is officially dead.  Sony has ceased production on its old time accessory, causing people everywhere surprise when they realized it was still in production to begin with.  Even though I still see people on public transportation rocking the Walkman, it’s obvious its heyday is over (and truth be told, it’s usually the hipsters or the homeless I see sporting the look to begin with).  It can no longer compare to the tiny mp3 players that can hold thousands of songs in a sleek 3inch by 4inch metallic looking box.  I get that but I’m still sad that the Walkman will walk no more.

You and I will never be as cool as this girl

I actually received a brand new Walkman with AM/FM capabilities from my significant other at the time on my 22nd birthday and it was one of the best gifts I had ever received.  I listened to so much classic rock on that thing that the crappy headphones almost molded to my head.  I was against selling out into i-pod world for a very long time and actually went the without until Christmas 2008, when my ex bought me one as a gift (my Walkman only last about two years before dissolving into static-y oblivion, shocker).  What’s with those I’m dating buying me things that distract me and prevent me from talking?  Who knows.  I do know that I gave the i-pod my best shot but I never connected with it like I did my first Walkman.  In fact, I recently decided that since I use my i-pod so rarely, I should put it up on Ebay.  I spent three weeks looking for it and finally stumbled across it last night (shows you how much I put it to use).  The irony of my finally locating it so I can sell it on the night that the Walkman died is not lost on me.

I know I’m in the minority that even cares that the Walkman’s days are over and I’m sure most of you would choose your ear buds and i-pod over the clunky cassette player any day.  It’s obviously more convenient and logical but logic has nothing on nostalgia.  I’m now thinking of searching old boxes to see if I have the remnants of old Walkman’s laying about anywhere, because surely these relics will be worth tons of money very soon.  And the next time I see someone on the bus with one in their hands, I’m going to ask how they like holding on to a little piece of history.

Chances are they’ll have on their headphones and will ignore me, proving that people have been rudely listening to their music for at least 30 years.  Thank you Walkman and may you rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

