Playing Grown-Up

October 20, 2010 at 2:28 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , )


Do you ever feel like you’re simply mimicking the whole “grown-up” lifestyle?  Sure, there are times when being an adult just hits you in the face (I find that to happen most often when I’m paying bills or shooting my cat up with insulin) but there are other times when I feel like I’m faking.  Take today, for instance.

I've been there

I did some very grown up things today.  I had a networking meeting with the head of the Traveling Exhibits Department at The Field Museum early this morning and while I felt my responses and questions were appropriate and well-thought out, part of me wanted to skip up and down the aisles of the museum and clap my hands because I got to talk about mummies with this woman.  If you know me and/or have read this blog for a while, you probably know that working at The Field is pretty much my dream job so this meeting was kind of a big deal for me.  She was very helpful and promised to send my resume along to some others I should speak with.  The Field, like many other museums, is under a hiring freeze and is actually laying off some employees soon but I’d be more than thrilled to even volunteer there and it sounds like this woman can help make that happen.  I left the meeting in a weird pseudo-adult haze, where part of me was excited to make a professional connection and the other part wanted to go play with dinosaur bones and call it a day.

Then I had an actual job interview, in the Wrigley Building off Michigan Avenue.  Well, not so much a job interview as an

I'm going to make it after all!

interview at a staffing agency that helps people like me actually find jobs.  This particular place is pretty well-known throughout Chicago and they had a few companies they wanted to go ahead and send my resume out to, so hopefully something turns up from that.  Walking around downtown before the interview is when I felt most like a grown-up impostor, because as much as I looked like a real adult with important adult things to attend to, I knew I had candy and crayons in my bag and no actual job to walk towards.  It’s okay though because today was all about making connections and getting the ball rolling on some things.  And that I did!

After my interview, I met with someone for a coffee (or in my case, smoothie…I had way too much coffee while I was nervously waiting for my various meetings to begin and didn’t really need to ingest more).  Not going to lie, even having a quick coffee downtown made me feel sort of adult.  Don’t worry though, I’ll still cater to my inner child – I’m wearing socks with cartoons on them and I might just have cereal for dinner.

4 Comments

  1. Mega said,

    Edward Norton’s character in Fight Club put it best when he said “I can’t get married; I’m a thirty year old boy.”

  2. webpaige said,

    Haha exactly!

  3. Deon said,

    Are you reading my mind?? I think about this all the time and what it would be like to have super powers. This leads me to believe that you might have the ability to read minds ad thus produced this particular blog-isode for my Id.

    Back to the Bat Cave!!!!

    • Paige said,

      You know, sometimes I think I can read minds. It’s not always fun though; there are some seriously twisted minds out there. At least yours focuses mostly on Batman and super-powers…mostly.

Leave a Reply

