This is Halloween

October 19, 2010 at 6:24 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


So, I kinda forgot to blog about the pumpkin I carved a few weeks ago.  I was reminded of pumpkins by my Halloween dream last night, in which I dressed up as the Octomom and received many compliments on my outfit.  The outfit included little pumpkins dressed as children, which was both weird and eerie.  I don’t know why I dressed as Octomom because frankly that woman offends just about every sense I have and I would never incorporate her likeness into a costume.  Ever.

And now I’m off track.  Anyway, here’s the 2nd pumpkin I’ve ever carved:

 

Boo!

 

In case you can’t exactly tell, it’s a scarecrow with a crow on its arm.  I used a stencil from a book of 8 that I bought at the dollar store and even though it wasn’t entirely original, I was pleased with how it turned out.  It didn’t take as long as I thought it would and I was finished with it before my yearly viewing of Hocus Pocus was over.

 

"Don't get your knickers in a twist! We're just three kindly old spinster ladies."

Remember the picture I posted of the pumpkin patch?  Yeah, that place was manned by one of the creepiest, most stereotypically strange guys I’ve ever met.  He had long, stringy hair, was pudgy around the middle and slightly dirty with eyes that never seemed to focus on the same thing.  He was standing outside of the entire fenced in pumpkin patch when I walked up and as he followed me through the gate I simultaneously realized I was the only one there and he was silently following me.  Realizing this is how every bad horror movie starts out, I mentally mapped out my exit strategy in case things got ugly.  I wandered around for a while and he only spoke when I asked a question.  Since my pumpkin queries weren’t too extensive (they were brought in from Wisconsin and he was living in the trailer on the rear of the lot), we quickly ran out of things to talk about.  Luckily the friend I was meeting showed up a little later and we were able to pick our favorites and head on back out the gate.  She agreed he was slightly off but I’ll tell you this – he gave us a deal on our pumpkins.  He’s still at California and Addison if you’re interested.

 

So we carved and watched Bette Midler for a while and then I accidentally kicked over some red wine when we turned out the lights to take our pics.  That was not fun and I ruined my stencil book, though since it only cost a buck I didn’t bother to cry over my spilled vino.  I was quite happy with my entire pumpkin carving process – and then roughly a week later it was rotted and disgusting.  My poor scarecrow was tossed with the trash (the things I would do for a compost heap…) and now I’m stuck with an empty windowsill two weeks before the big candy giving day.  I knew it wouldn’t last the month but I was hoping to have a little more time before it was all over.  Looks like my loner buddy on the lot might get to stand awkwardly around me once again.

Leave a Reply

