Recipe Time!

October 14, 2010 at 3:33 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , )


It’s been a while since I posted a meal on here and since I made a truly delicious dinner earlier this week, I figured it was time to share.  Bon appetit!

You will need:

  • Rice.  Any type will do.  Since I am the Queen of Lazy, I chose frozen brown rice from Trader Joe’s that cooks in the microwave in 60 seconds flat.
  • Some source of protein.  My meal featured a vegetarian chicken cutlet covered in a sun-dried tomato sauce.  If you’re among the majority and are carnivorous, feel free to use real chicken, a type of fish or something else.  I don’t really know what I’m talking about in this department so use your own judgment.
  • Vegetables.  I raided my fridge and used whatever I had and if you have more than one type of veggie on hand then you can easily do the same.  Don’t have any vegetables in the house?  Well, then you can’t exactly follow this recipe now can you?  Go eat some potato chips or ice cream because you’ve already ruined your dinner.  And try buying a carrot sometime.
  • Spices – whatever adds a little flavor to your life.
  • An oven (must work).

 

Finished product should somewhat resemble this

 

My aforementioned laziness often comes into play during the whole dinner-making process, so I tend to get in and out of the kitchen as quickly as possible.  There are nights that this means I eat cookies for the last meal of my day and I’m okay with that.  Since I was feeling particularly grown up the night I made this dinner (and particularly worried about certain foods going bad before I could eat them), I decided to spend more than five minutes in the kitchen.  I spent 25 and it was totally worth it.

I stuck the pseudo chicken product in a baking dish, covered it with the sauce it came with and stuck some foil on top.  Then I cut up some zucchini, squash, mushrooms, carrots and spinach leaves, drizzled them with a bit of olive oil, sprinkled some garlic salt, crushed black pepper and red pepper on top and put it on a baking pan.  The pan went next to the dish and I stuck it in the oven on 350 to let it do its thing.  Meanwhile, I set my table (I even ate at my table that night!) and heated up the rice.  I also had enough time for an impromptu dance party.  I opened the oven about 10 minutes through to turn the chicken and add some goat cheese to the top of my vegetable medley.  10 minutes after that I was ready to eat!

Easy, tasty and fast – just like I like my dates.  All joking aside, it was a great meal and inspired me to try this whole cooking thing more than a few times a month.  Perhaps my next job will be a chef of some sort…or maybe I’ll just stop eating so much cereal for dinner.

1 Comment

  1. peggy said,

    sounds tasty paige! I’m impressed with your creation!

Leave a Reply

