Cat Diabetes Fever

October 12, 2010 at 9:58 am (Uncategorized) ()


It’s official – Catsby is diabetic. Apparently it’s more severe than the vet originally thought and I have to get her started on insulin today. I’m also going to have to board her this weekend, as I’m going out of town to attend a dear friend’s wedding and the kitty in question will need to have insulin administered twice a day from now on.  By yours truly.

This is totally freaking me out. The vet says that it’s treatable and she can still live a long life, which is great. I’m worried about being the one giving her shots though, because that kind of thing makes me squeamish. However, I’ll be getting over it because it’s what she needs.  The cost of everything is a concern as well but right now I just want Catsby head butting me for attention like usual.  Can someone maybe tell me that everything will work out in the end?

3 Comments

  1. Debbie said,

    I’m sending “feel good” kitty vibes to both you & Catsby.

  2. Lucy said,

    Things will be alright in the end. As for being squeamish about such things, you’ll get used to it. I hate needles but giving shots was something we always had to do on the farm and you get used to it real quick. Plus it’s easier if you’re not the one receiving the shot, even though you have to give it to someone (or animal in this case) that you care about. The fact that you care about Catsby will make it easier. Also you’ll make ends meet and this won’t be end of the world. I know you can do it!

Leave a Reply

