The Runaround

October 8, 2010 at 11:20 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


Roughly 40,000 crazy people will be running 26 miles in Chicago on Sunday.  It’s going to look a little something like this:

 

These people have lost their senses for a good cause

 

I have at least three friends running in it this year.  They have all been training for months and are now anxiously awaiting The Big Day.  I have many feelings about running a 26 mile marathon, the first of which is absolute dismay.  I feel tired just thinking about it.  After that I feel slightly guilty that I will probably never have the desire, strength or endurance to run that kind of distance.  Then I ultimately feel glad that I haven’t signed myself up for such an endeavor.

 

This would be me roughly 45 feet into the race

 

That doesn’t mean I don’t think it’s awesome.  I am SO proud to even know people who can commit to something like this and they’re all raising money for some really great and deserving charities, which makes it even more impressive.  It’s been interesting to listen to my friends as they’ve gone through the training process, especially since two of the three weren’t really runners to begin with.  They have devoted countless hours, beads of sweat, tears of determination and tread in their shoes to get ready for this race and I am more than blown away by all of their efforts.

But I myself am not and will never be a long distance runner.  Here’s a brief list of things I would rather be doing than participating in a 26 mile marathon:

  • get my teeth pulled out by an angry dentist
  • bathe in salt water after falling in a thorny rose-bush
  • have small monkeys try to bite earrings from my ears (I’ve actually experienced this one so I know what I’d be getting into)
  • listen to bad country music at full volume while trying to sleep
  • help a hoarder pack and/or move
  • engage in a fist fight with Snooki from Jersey Shore
  • clean my cat’s litter box with a toothbrush
  • eat a hot dog (actually I’m not sure if this would be better or worse than a marathon…but I would still probably do it before running)

Seriously though, I can only imagine what goes into something like this and I’m giving a huge kudos to all those who are going for it.  You guys rock!  And maybe, just maybe, I’ll put running a 5k on my bucket list.  Maybe.

To those who are made of stronger stuff than I – good luck and kick that pavement’s ass!

1 Comment

  1. amberwrites said,

    🙂 Thank you again for your support and encouragement.

    I have come to the realization that I am somewhat crazy.

    Whenever you’re ready for that 5K, let me know and I’ll run it with you!

Leave a Reply

