The Heat is On…

September 28, 2010 at 10:30 am (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


…in my apartment.

I’m one of those lucky Chicagoans who doesn’t have to pay for my heat, as it’s included in my rent.  Unfortunately, that means I don’t have much control over how or when it’s being used.  And when I say I don’t have much control over it, I mean my input on the matter means absolutely, positively nothing.

Invented by Satan in the depths of Hell

I woke up around 4am yesterday morning to a lovely clanging noise.  The sound my radiator makes when it turns on is loud and obnoxious and the best way I can think to describe it is that it sounds like dozens of little gnome people are having a wild and crazy party in the vents.  This party includes clanking little gnome steins on the side of the radiator and smacking it with hammers after that.

It’s a pleasant, soothing sound.

As I was not expecting the heat to be turned on in the middle of the night, when I awoke yesterday I was a sweaty mess tangled in my bed sheets.  This morning was more of the same.  It’s a good thing I sleep with a fan on every night or I might have melted while in dreamland.  I’m on to their game now though and tonight I’ll be prepared…maybe I’ll sleep with the window AC unit on.

I guess this means that winter is closing in.  I am by no means happy about it and it’s this time of the year that makes me think of relocating to someplace where the temperatures don’t hover around zero degrees for months on end.  We’re not there quite yet though so I’ll try to enjoy seeing sunlight at 5pm for as long as I can.

On an unrelated note, I had someone on the train this morning tell me how tired I look today.  Remember how I wrote a post lamenting how much I hate that?  Still do.

2 Comments

  1. amberwrites said,

    The free, yet uncontrollable, heat is a Catch-22. We had it in our first CHI apartment, which was great because we didn’t pay. But we were on the top floor and it got balmy at times. Now, I just freeze until I’m ready to suck it up and start paying Peoples Gas. I’m not there yet.

    • webpaige said,

      Yup, it’s a double-edged sword! Wasn’t on full blast this morning though so I’ll take it.

Leave a Reply

