A Little Pick Me Up

September 13, 2010 at 12:05 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , )


Time for another restaurant review!

I went to the Pick Me Up Cafe in Lakeview for brunch yesterday.  I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I freaking love breakfast food, and I love love love that Chicago allows its residents to find it almost anytime, anywhere.

Just what I needed after a night drinking at GermanFest!

This quirky place is located not too far from Wrigley Field.  I met up with a new friend there and, as I waited, had ample time to peruse the menu.  I am appalled and ashamed that I’d never been there before, as it’s chock full of vegetarian friendly options.  For some reason I was only expecting a breakfast menu but apparently they serve everything from omelettes to sandwiches to pizza, all day long.  Most of this can be made vegan as well but since I have an everlasting love for all things cheesy, I pretended not to see the vegan stuff.

Fun, no?

I ordered a breakfast burrito, which had red and green peppers, onions, tofu, eggs, cheese and avocado all rolled up in a tortilla.  It was served with sour cream and some other sauce that I couldn’t quite place but devoured anyway.  There was also a side of home fries, which were little potato cubes covered with a spice that gave off a bit of a kick.  My food was delicious and the gal I was with ate the hell out of her pancakes, so I think they were pretty good too.

I’m going to have to go back, if for no other reason than to try their BBQ seitan sandwich.  Seitan is basically wheat gluten, and I promise it’s better than it sounds.  As a vegetarian, I miss eating things covered with barbecue sauce.  Sure, I can put it on my veggie chicken patties or my homemade pizzas (and trust me, I do) and I even make “sloppy joe’s” with a mix from the grocery, but nothing beats a pseudo-meat like product slathered with the sauce and on a big ‘ol bun.  Well, for me at least.  I almost had it yesterday instead of the burrito but my slightly-hungover self thought better of it.  Next time for sure.

Pick Me Up Cafe also has quite an assortment of beverages, from typical coffee-house fare like lattes and cappuccinos to milkshakes and other awesome looking desserts.  The cheesecake was especially appealing but I refrained, mostly because I was too full after my meal to even think about ingesting anything else.  I managed to walk my way home, barely.

I love that Chicago has so many restaurants that I’ve yet to experience, although it makes it a little more difficult to go try someplace new when I’ve already found so many spots I really enjoy.  I’ll continue to try brunch and food in general all over the city but plan on getting a Pick Me Up quite often in the future.

And on an unrelated note…in two days I’ll be eating and drinking on the beaches of Puerto Vallarta!

1 Comment

  1. Another Little Pick Me Up « Webpaige's Blog said,

    […] you recall, I wrote a review a while back about a little place that serves great warm beverages and fantastic food.  I […]

Leave a Reply

