Dating the City

August 23, 2010 at 1:17 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , , )


I.  Love.  Chicago.

What's not to like?

I’ll admit that I’ve watched some Sex and the City in my day and this weekend I was reminded of the episode where Carrie admits to having a love affair with New York.  I feel the same way about Chicago and this weekend only strengthened that bond.

Friday night, I was walking home from the train with grand visions of a huge nap running through my head.  I had been busy almost every night for two weeks and frankly, my couch was calling my name.  As I was about a block from home, a group of teenagers came up to me and handed me a playbill for a show they were doing that night.  It happened to be at the Prop Theater, which is about a 2 minute walk from my apartment.  They said the show was about the tough issues teens have to face today and as someone who works with kids, I was intrigued.  So I went.  The show, called Where Do We Go From Here? was put together by the Anxious Voices Youth Ensemble, which is an organization that gets kids involved in writing and acting and encourages them to stay off the street.  They spent 8 weeks writing the script and it was about a group of inner-city kids dealing with teen pregnancy, violence, drugs and gangs.  It was pretty powerful and I really enjoyed it, although as it started late and didn’t have an intermission my bladder was not as pleased.

On Saturday, a friend and I met up for coffee at Dollop, which is a funky little place in Uptown.  I love independent coffee shops, what with their original artwork on the walls and great atmosphere.  The music was good and my iced Chai was delicious.  I wish I had someplace like that near where I live and I’m going to have to put independent coffee shop on my list of requirements for when I move.

After coffee, we had dinner at Demera, a nearby Ethiopian restaurant.  Before last week I had never had Ethiopian food and I actually had it twice in three days, so now I’m hooked.  Thursday was the day I first tried it, during my monthly book club meeting – I’ll be doing a review of that later this week so I’ll spare all the delicious details until then.  Suffice to say, it was great.

On Sunday, I treated myself to breakfast and then began another day of dating the city.  Since I’m taking a two day course at Northwestern this weekend, I decided to figure out exactly where it was and plan my route (yes, I’m a tad anal

Just Beachy

and yes, I’m extremely excited about the class).  I walked down to Wrigleyville with a huge mass of people going to the Cubs game and managed to disentangle myself long enough to hop on a train.  I found the building where my class is going to be pretty easily and had to refrain from jumping up and down at the thought of going back to school, even if it is just for two days.  Since the downtown Northwestern campus is pretty much right next to the beach, I strolled over there for a while and enjoyed some sunshine and people watching.  Yesterday was absolutely gorgeous here in Chicago and so I window-shopped up and down Michigan Avenue for a while before hopping on a bus and going to one of my favorite places in all of the city…that’s right, the Field Museum.  I spent a nice, peaceful two hours wandering around there but then they threw me out so I had to mosey on home.

It was a great Sunday and a great weekend in general.  I realized once again how lucky I am to live in such a beautiful, busy city and I am so thankful that I’m here.  I know that I’ll be bitching and moaning pretty soon when the weather turns to crap and I’ll have to come re-read this post to remind myself why I put up with the winters.  Until then, though, I plan on going on as many dates with Chicago as I possibly can!

Leave a Reply

