On Target

July 26, 2010 at 2:09 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , )


Target disorients me with its awesomeness

Oh, Target.  How often do people enter your store with the good intention of buying just one item?  As we all know, the road to hell is paved with good intentions.  Even though you are ohsoclose to me, I try to avoid you because I know you’re not always good for me.  Or my budget.  This weekend, though, I was really looking forward to a shopping spree, courtesy of my landlord.

Yup, he finally came through for me and I had a $100.00 Visa card in my apartment when I came home Friday afternoon.  He had been promising me a gift card to Target ever since my bathroom pipe debacle and he was good to his word.  Well, not exactly – the gift card was a Visa card which required me to activate it before use.  No biggie, right?

Right.  So I went to Target yesterday, after carefully planning out my list, and was more than excited to have $100.00 to blow that did not come directly from my paycheck.  You know how it is with Target – I thought I’d be in and out in 20 minutes.  Ha.  I was there almost two hours (in part because they finished the produce area and I had to give it a look-see) but I was pretty happy that I found everything I needed.  Various groceries, water filters, prescriptions, a new watch (which I’m going to have to return – damn these stupid dainty wrists), shampoo, body wash…the usual odds and ends that make up any good trip to Target.  I had a feeling I was getting close to my hundred-dollar limit so I wandered on up to the registers, my Visa card out and ready to pay.

Except…

What in the wide, wide world of sports?  Apparently these cards take a few days to activate, even after you go online and follow the directions to activate them.  You can imagine how I felt when I was told that it wasn’t quite activated and I’d have to wait a few days.  The shock.  The horror.  The embarrassment as a line of people behind me rolled their eyes and breathed one collective sigh of frustration.  It was a truly magical moment.

So I had to shell out some of my own hard-earned money to get the hell out of the store.  Looks like I’ll be holding on to my Visa gift card for a few more days (but not too long, because after every month that goes by where it’s not used, money is taken off the card.  They really are jerks like that).  I was so proud of myself for saving the card for groceries and other necessary items and now those items are paid for and the card is burning a hole in my pocket.  Should I save it for my next day of errand running and grocery buying?  Should I spend it on something totally irresponsible and reckless?  If so, what?

Yeah, yeah…I’ll probably save it for groceries.  Sometimes grown-ups have all the fun.

Leave a Reply

