Time Out

July 22, 2010 at 12:59 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


My watch died today.

R.I.P

I bought this watch almost two years ago because I had a new grown up job and my Velcro watch with dinosaurs on it no longer seemed appropriate.  I’ve worn it nearly every day since then and I suppose I shouldn’t be too surprised that its battery was not eternal.  In fact, I think my watch has been dying a slow and painful death and I was too oblivious to figure it out.

A couple of months ago I noticed that the inside of the watch, the part that wraps around my wrist, was rusting.  Not surprising given the fact that I paid a whopping $12.99 for the thing to begin with, but it was something I noted.  Last week I saw some condensation under the face and while I should’ve taken it off then and put it out of its misery, I thought it would recover.  Instead, the discoloration of the face and random water bubbles only got worse and the time only got harder to tell.  This morning, I glanced at it and actually commented to someone that I thought I needed to get a new watch – and I think that’s what killed it.  When I looked at it a half hour later, the time was stuck at 6:30am and it will remain stuck there forever and ever because I’m not going to shell out money for a new battery when a new watch will likely cost me the same (thank you, Target).  I do think it’s ironic that it died within moments of me saying it was on its way out and I’m glad I was able to use it once more before its untimely demise.  Or not so untimely, depending on how you look at it.

Whatever new watch I get, I can promise you that it won't be pink.

Good grief, I just checked my wrist for the time as I’m typing about how my watch no longer works. I’ve done this roughly 4,578 times today and it’s getting old.  Perhaps I should forgo buying a new one and get used to going without?  People evolved for thousands and thousands of years without a timepiece strapped to their wrist so I know it’s possible.  However, I feels so damn naked today that I don’t think it’s going to be possible for me.

That leaves the question, what sort of new watch should I buy?  Obviously, it doesn’t need to be the most expensive thing out there as the one that broke was cheap as hell and worked perfectly up until the very end.  Excuse me while I wipe a tear.

So should I go fancy?  Sporty?  Get one with a calculator so I can finally let my inner nerd out for all to see?  Should I stick with analog or maybe go digital so I can tell more easily when drinking?  Maybe I could try to find a Go Go Gadget Watch?  Or how about a pocket watch, so I can pretend to be old and classy?  The possibilities are endless.  However, if I’m going to be completely honest, there’s a very strong chance that I’ll buy a newer version of the one that just died.  Would that be lame?  I really liked it and unless they come out with watches that shoot lasers or make pancakes, I don’t think it’ll matter too much – I just need it to tell time.  And yes, I know that cell phones do this for us but my wrist is usually a lot closer than my phone.  So I’ll be out on a not so exciting watch hunt this weekend – but if I find one that will maim my enemies or flip my veggie burger you can bet you’ll be the first to know.

1 Comment

  1. Debbie said,

    I paid $8.00 @ Big Lots for my last watch! I’ll spend $ on diamonds (my birthstone) – not watches!

Leave a Reply

