Shower Power

July 7, 2010 at 2:15 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , )


In my post from last Friday, I mentioned how my apartment was in disarray due to the new pipes that were being installed in the shower in my bathroom.  My landlord had promised that all would be finished and ready to go when I got home from work Friday evening.  My day Friday was quite long (aren’t they all?) and I met a couple of friendly guys on the train who gave me two beers on the ride home.  That was much appreciated, although by the time I was walking up my apartment stairs I had to pee like a pregnant woman after drinking a Big Gulp.  All I could think of was releasing my overly full bladder, but when I walked in my front door I was greeted by two strange looking men in my bathroom.  My urination had to wait.

I was a little frustrated, because besides having two beers begging to be released, I had about 20 minutes to get myself ready before going out again.  It had been a day (coughmaybetwocough) since my last shower and I was in desperate need – but it was not to happen.  I paced my bedroom counting seconds and the men actually finished with the pipes earlier than I was expecting, which also happened to be about 10 minutes before I was being picked up for the night.  I had enough time to pee and put on some deodorant before I was out the door once again.  Sexy, huh?

The point I’m trying to make is that by the time I finally got to enjoy a shower (I’m talking hair washing and all) it was Saturday.  And it was amazing.  AMAZING.  I knew that my pressure had been crappy but until it was fixed I didn’t realize how crappy it was (kind of like that story about the guy who started walking around the hole in his floor instead of getting it fixed and eventually forgot the hole was there.  Wait, did I make that up?).  The pressure began to deteriorate back in the winter, and there were times I’d have to plug in my space heater just so I was warm enough in the shower to shower (shaving was a nightmare).  More than once, I caught myself banging the wall in frustration and cursing the day my landlord was born.  He knew this was a problem (hence the eventual new pipes) but it took a while to fix it, although I will admit he got the ball rolling soon after I started making the threat of breaking my lease.

What all of this rambling is trying to get at is this – I am SO HAPPY with my shower now.  I’ve been taking 2 a day (have to, with this heat) and loving every minute of it.  I can wash my hair without using a cup, which is a big deal considering the thickness of my mane.  And I didn’t even have the worst of it – I ran into the guy who lives above me a few weeks ago and he told me his pressure was so awful that he would turn on the water to his bathroom sink and fill cups from there to aid in the process.  As he is a rather large and hairy guy, this was not a mental image I was okay with having.  I’m glad his pipes are fixed too.

Of course, there’s still a large piece of plywood nailed into my wall over where they tore it apart to reach the pipes.  It was supposed to be fixed Monday but at this point I don’t really care, so long as my water pressure remains adequate.  In fact, I’m thinking of decorating the plywood and letting people sign it when they come over.  Graffiti is always fun and if it’s on a temporary fixture just inside my front door, even better.  Anyone have some fancy artwork they want to show off?  Perhaps a haiku or limerick you’d like to scrawl on a wall?  Just come on over but hurry – if it’s as fun as I think it’ll be I might just have to charge a price.

Leave a Reply

