Reason #487 to Love Chicago

July 6, 2010 at 2:01 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


After my frantic, grumpy post yesterday I thought I’d write about something a little more pleasant today.  I chose the nicest experience I had this weekend, an evening with a fantastic gal pal of mine (you know who you are!).

We started our adventure off by going to Fresh Farms International, an amazing grocery store in the suburbs that I had never been to.  I was blown away.  This place had more fruit and vegetables in one building than I’ve ever seen, anywhere.  The store itself was massive and there really was food from just about every place you could imagine.  There was also a fresh fish market with octopus and other various things I haven’t seen since my trip to Korea.  Sadly, we were working with a time frame but that didn’t stop us from enjoying ourselves immensely as we browsed.  The whole purpose of the trip was to pack a picnic and I would say we succeeded.

Please excuse the blurry phone picture.  This is what our spread looked like once we got everything out and I’m not ashamed to say we ate like queens.  I had a list somewhere (how I love my lists) of all the goodies but as it’s at home and I’m not, I’m going to have to wing it.  From memory (and this pic), we had pasta salad, two other kinds of Mediterranean salad, strawberries, cherries, grapes, pineapple, fruit dip, three kinds of cheese, crackers, salsa, guacamole, hummus, pita bread, chips, some little eggplant egg roll things, veggies and dip and chocolate covered pretzels.  And of course, wine.

Pure heaven.  Until the bugs set in.

As we were enjoying our food and drink, a swarm of little gnat type bastards appeared out of nowhere.  It was strange, as they seemed to be congregating in cyclones and only appeared in certain spots.  People everywhere began commenting and trying to wave them away, to no avail.  Many people moved and while we were safe for a while, an eventual onslaught set us packing.  We put the food away, kept the wine and moved a bit closer to the lake to enjoy some more of a beautiful evening.  We had to laugh at the infestation though, since it was especially funny to watch people everywhere bat away what looked like an invisible threat and run for cover.

Anyway, our plan was to settle in for a night of watching fireworks on the lake.  As luck and poor planning would have it, the regular Saturday night fireworks were pushed back to Sunday for the Fourth and we didn’t get to see any over the city.  Another lesson learned the hard way.  No worries though, because we managed to see a different display across the harbor on our way home and that was enough for us.

This was our set up and view, before the attack of the bugs.  Not a bad way to spend a Saturday night.

It’s little things like this that make me appreciate the city I live in.  Even without the brouhaha of the fireworks, it was an incredibly enjoyable evening.  It’s hard to go wrong with good food and great company but this beautiful skyline just made things ten times better.  I know I bitch and moan about some things (the weather, for instance) but in the end I know I’m lucky.  Nights like Saturday make the winters worth it and I plan on having as many of them as I can before the snow comes ’round once again!

But next time, I’m bringing bug spray.

1 Comment

  1. Mega said,

    “But next time, I’m bringing Dan.”

    Well! I can certainly go with if you’re inviting me.

Leave a Reply

