No Holiday for Me

July 5, 2010 at 1:45 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , )


I had all kinds of things I wanted to write about today but they’re all going to have to wait until later this week (if at all) because I have half of my usual lunch time for at least the next three days.  Why is that?  Apparently, I’m a dumb ass.

Unlike the majority of tax paying citizens, I do not have today off of work.  In fact, if the Fourth of July happened to fall during the actual work week, I wouldn’t have that off either.  That’s because I work for a learning center whose peak season falls during the summer and we don’t close our doors during those months for anything.  I knew this when I was hired and have accepted it, but it’s still not fun when everyone else seems to be basking in the glory of a three-day weekend.

So I woke up at my usual time this morning and got ready for another day at the office.  I checked the bus tracker application on my phone, as I do every morning, and saw that no buses were scheduled to run for the next two hours.  Drat.  So I managed to go from sleeping to out the door in fifteen minutes (this includes shower time).  I booked it to the train, where I waited impatiently for the next one to come through.  It finally did and I was counting seconds to make sure I met with the commuter train to the suburbs.  I ran the two blocks there (I hate running so, so much) and made it with minutes to spare.

Then I looked around.  The platform was empty but that wasn’t too surprising, considering how few people actually had to work today.  However when the time for my train to arrive came and went, I began to get worried.  That’s when a guy on the platform with me asked if I knew anything about it running on a Holiday schedule today.  What the?  Using my trusty smart phone, I did some research and realized that yes, in fact, the first train out of Chicago wasn’t leaving until after 8am.  I’m supposed to be at work at 7:30.

Sonofa…yeah.  I sat on the train steps for two full hours this morning.  That was two hours I could’ve been working, sleeping, coloring, dancing, eating, playing fetch with my cat…you get the idea.  Two hours wasted.  Plus I was way late to work, on one of the busiest days of the week.  Super awesome.  I suppose I should’ve thought to check the schedule but the holiday was yesterday and I just didn’t think that Metra would screw those of us who actually had to work today over like that.  Guess I was wrong, and my lesson has been learned.

So now I get to make up that time in any way I can, plus wait around an extra 45 minutes after I get off today to catch the train home (Holiday schedule, how I love you).  Not a great way to start a week…it can only get better, right?

For the sake of those around me, I sure hope so.

2 Comments

  1. Katryna said,

    Well, I hope that you did not have to deal with a terrible hang over because that really really would have sucked.

    • webpaige said,

      Luckily I got my hangover out of the way earlier in the weekend – that would’ve made things ten times worse!

Leave a Reply

