TGIF

July 2, 2010 at 1:07 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , , , )


Some random thoughts to help me start my weekend:

I do not get a holiday for the Fourth of July.  It seems like everyone else and their mother does, so all week long I’ve been hearing people talk excitedly about their long weekend.  These people suck.  I will be at work all day today and all day Monday as well.  Please have a drink for me while you enjoy sunshine and paid time off, as I’ll be wishing I was there.  Nationally observed holiday my ass.

I have had the lyrics to the Lady Gaga song Monster in my head for three straight days now.  It was literally the first thing that I consciously thought when I woke up today.  I think I’m going crazy.

This is sort of what my apartment looks like right now.  I’ve been dealing with progressively crappier water pressure since…oh, the winter, and my pipes are finally being replaced.  Well, they were supposed to have been replaced at least.  I had a not so friendly chat with my landlord yesterday when I got home and saw things still weren’t finished and I still couldn’t use my shower.  Trying to find places to wash makes me feel like a bum and I’m not happy about it.  He swore up and down that things will be completely finished when I return home tonight – and they better be.  Otherwise Evil Paige might have to make an appearance, and she’s never pretty.

This morning, I saw a few things during my commute to work that made me shake my head.  A guy at my bus stop was carrying a large plastic bag full of identical dolls, all in boxes.  He’s there pretty much every morning and this was the first time the dolls have made an appearance.  Even stranger is the fact that he was not carrying the bag when he exited the bus, and I didn’t see it anywhere.  Weird.

Right after we got on (dolls and all) I saw a John Deere tractor driving down a relatively busy street here in Chicago.  The tractor had a SpongeBob Squarepants doll attached firmly to the grill and the guy driving the tractor was wearing a straw hat.  What the?  Yeah, my thoughts exactly.

Not three minutes later, I watched as some guy exiting the off ramp of the Dan Ryan Expressway brushed his teeth.  He was driving.  I know multi-tasking is a wonderful thing but that just seemed to be taking it a bit too far.  Besides, where does one spit when they do something like that?

So that’s how my weekend has started.  I’ve got about ten minutes left in my lunch break and about two hours left here in my office and then I’m free free free.  As I get set for my regular two day Fourth of July weekend, I want to leave you all with one of my favorite quotes from one of my favorite movies, Dazed and Confused:

“Okay guys, one more thing, this summer when you’re being inundated with all this American bicentennial Fourth Of July brouhaha, don’t forget what you’re celebrating, and that’s the fact that a bunch of slave-owning, aristocratic, white males didn’t want to pay their taxes.”

Leave a Reply

