You Know Who You Look Like?

June 23, 2010 at 2:16 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , )


I’ve heard that before.  It seems like everyone has a celebrity that they’re often told they resemble, and I appear to be no different.

When I was younger, I was told that I looked like Melissa Joan Hart.  Or to be more specific, Melissa Joan Hart from her Clarissa Explains It All days.  I attribute this to the fact that we both have slightly upturned noses and her character was quirky, eccentric, wore odd clothes and had bad Eighties hair.  I admit these similarities.

Lately, it seems everyone and their mother has been telling me how much I look like The Waitress from It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia.  I’ve only seen the show a handful of times and since she’s not a main character, I’ve only seen her like once.  I was not impressed.

It’s like Melissa Joan Hart all over again.  I guess I can see the resemblance here (though I’m not blond).  It’s the nose and thin lips that do it.  I actually had a complete stranger on the bus tell me she was convinced she knew me and after I politely told her I didn’t think so, she realized it was because she thought I looked so much like The Waitress.  Sigh.

Here’s her with brunette hair.  I admit there are a few things we have in common.

Now here’s where things get weird.  The people in my family all look very much alike – basically, everyone spawned by my grandparents or their children bears a striking resemblance to one another.  Enough to warrant an entirely separate blog post, which I will one day create.  Anyway, my little sister and I don’t look too much alike (or so we like to think) but a recent hair cut which gave her bangs for the first time in about a decade has proved to help us look more like one another.  Earlier this week, she was hanging out with a friend of hers and he was giving her shit for looking so much like me.  I think he said something along the lines of “Go back to Chicago” and was generally poking fun.  After a few minutes though, he got serious and said that who she really looked like was The Waitress from It’s Always Sunny.  Mind you, he had no previous knowledge of how many people have told me that or how much it gets under my skin.  She let loose some profanities on him and when she explained why, he had a good laugh.

Ha.  Ha.  Ha.

Oh, and the weirdest comparison I’ve ever received?  A guy I used to deliver pizzas with would constantly tell me I looked like Link from Zelda.

This is inappropriate because I am not a male, nor am I a cartoon character.  Even though I wish I was (a cartoon character, not a male).  And besides that – really?  Are my ears that pointed?  Does this guy resemble Melissa Joan Hart too?  Or was the pizza dude on drugs?

Actually, I think that answers that.  I’m glad I could Explain it All.

Leave a Reply

