Officially Summer

June 22, 2010 at 2:22 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , )


Yesterday was Summer Solstice, which officially marks the beginning of summer.  In honor of this new season I thought I’d throw together a little pro/con list.  In no particular order:

Summer Pros:

  • NO MORE COLD
  • Sandals
  • Swimming
  • Sunshine
  • Drinking and dining outdoors
  • Drinking and dining outdoors (this is so great I thought I’d mention it twice)
  • Street fests
  • Beaches
  • Long days
  • Skirts
  • Standing in front of your open freezer after a long, hot walk home
  • Vacations (for everyone else.  I get mine sometime after August)
  • Gardens in full bloom
  • Summer storms
  • Ice cream (this is good year-round but easier to find/swallow in the summer)

Summer Cons:

  • Lack of central air conditioning
  • The ugly hobbit feet that some people unfortunately possess
  • Not having access to a pool
  • Sunshine waking you up at 6am on a Saturday
  • Spending more money because you’re constantly drinking and dining outdoors
  • Clothes that stick to your skin because you’re so sweaty
  • Sweating more in general
  • Humidity
  • Watching everyone else take a vacation while I have to work
  • Bugs/mosquitoes
  • Summer storms (this is on both lists.  If you read my post from yesterday, you’ll know why)

Even with the cons, I love summer.  And since it’ll only be around Chicago for an oh-so-brief amount of time, I will enjoy it while I can!

1 Comment

  1. Mega said,

    Add to the list of cons: shootings, humidity. Oh wait, you said humidity. But I’ll say it again: humidity.

Leave a Reply

