Coffee Break

June 17, 2010 at 12:54 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , )


How did one little drink worm its way into my life?

I made it 25 years without drinking the stuff, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t try.  When I had to be at work at 5:30a.m. on weekend mornings in high school (after staying out late weekend nights), I attempted to drink coffee regularly.  I also tried it on and off throughout college, as it seemed to help everyone else who was partying too much and studying too little (not that I ever did such a thing).  I never really liked the taste though and after a while I quit trying to choke the stuff down.

Then I started working at my current job.  Coffee is provided to us and we always have a variety of creamers floating around as well.  One day last year, I loaded up a cup that was more flavored creamer and sugar than coffee and drank away.  I had three more cups that morning and I finally understood what the whole jittery thing was all about (I also couldn’t get a coherent sentence out, as I kept tripping over my own words).  Since then I’ve imbibed pretty regularly, although I don’t drink four cups a morning anymore.  If I’m smart, I’ll never do that again.  I don’t drink it for the wake up factor because that doesn’t seem to help anymore, but rather now I find that I enjoy the taste.  I still have to doctor it up of course, but I can honestly say that I look forward to that steaming cup sitting on my desk.  How did this happen?  I can remember going to a coffee shop with my girlfriends in high school and they were always trying to get me to try their drinks and I always declined.  I had brunch with one of these friends a few months ago and she almost fell out of her chair when I ordered a cup.  Yeah, I find it strange too.

Is it a bad habit to get into, especially after going so long without?  Probably, although there is research that shows a decrease in dementia and Alzheimer’s in people who drink coffee on a regular basis.  I suppose it’s okay in moderation, just like everything else (like work).  I don’t even always finish my cup; I think I like the act of drinking coffee more than actually drinking it.  I’ll make a cup every now and then at home on the weekend and just sit at my dining room table to enjoy it.  I don’t think I’ll ever be the type of person who has to have it to get out of bed in the mornings though.  If I ever get to that point, please someone stage an intervention.  I like to try to keep my potential addictions in check, you know?  I always heard coffee was a gateway drug anyway.  So thanks for helping keep me in line and if you ever want to talk about other addictions, perhaps we can meet up for cup of coffee sometime.

Leave a Reply

