Lunch Wrap Recipe

May 18, 2010 at 12:58 pm (Uncategorized) (, , )


I haven’t done a food post in a while and since I don’t have much time this week, I figured I’d show off what I had for lunch.

Actually, this is a slight variation on what I have for lunch just about every day.  Here goes:

Spinach Wrap

Hummus (three-layer hummus including traditional, roasted red pepper and cilantro) – if you’re a regular reader, you know of my pathetic addiction to White Bean Basil Hummus.  This three-layer stuff is my attempt at weaning myself off the flavor of hummus that I would happily swim through.

One slice of provolone cheese

Two slices of vegetarian turkey (obviously the real stuff will suffice, if you’re into that sort of thing)

Spinach leaves

Avocado

Dried cranberries

Then – wrap it all up and ingest.  You can see, I added a leftover strawberry from breakfast as a nice little touch.  Voila!  Lunch.  And yes, it was delicious.

I make a wrap almost every day and usually just fill it with whatever I have sitting around in my fridge.  I bought some avocados to make guacamole for my book club tonight but only one was ripe today, so I just added it to my lunch instead.  Book club will get pasta salad, though not the pasta salad seen here.  That was made with whole wheat pasta, cherry tomatoes, black olives, goat cheese and three kinds of bell peppers, mixed up with some light Italian dressing.  Again, just a little bit of everything that I had lying around.  The pasta salad I made for book club is a little more Greek, with roasted red peppers, feta cheese and black olives.  I hope my literate lady friends enjoy it but I will have no problem taking it home for leftovers if they don’t.

Who says you can’t eat a tasty, healthy meal at your desk?  Just a pity my camera phone skills are so seriously lacking.  I promise, it looked better in person.

Leave a Reply

