Top Ten Reasons I’m Glad My Car Was Totaled

May 13, 2010 at 2:33 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , )


I’ve been living sans car for about a year and a half now (thanks to the drunk guy dressed like Santa Claus who ran over it while it was parked in a driveway…yes, you read that right), and while there are some things I miss, I’m actually pretty glad I no longer have a vehicle.  I know this may seem bizarre to some and trust me, if you had told me three years ago I would be happily lacking a car, I’d have thought you were crazy.  Luckily I live in a city that makes this possible, as there is no way that I could live back in Indiana without one.  I may long for wheels on grocery day but that’s about it.  Here are a few reasons why:

1.  Saving Mucho Moola

I no longer have to make a car payment or pay for insurance, oil changes, new tires, new brakes, new transmissions, new air fresheners or anything else car related.  When I hear someone complaining about the $500 payment they have to make to the auto mechanic, I silently give praise to that drunken Santa.  Sure, I pay in public transit fees, but that is significantly less than what I would be shelling out to own a vehicle.

2.  Gas Prices Don’t Bother Me

This is sort of related to Number One but I feel it’s so important it gets it’s very own numeric spot.  I happen to live in the city with the highest gas prices in the country and it is so wonderful to ignore them.  I pay no more attention to gas prices than I do to the homeless guy peeing on the sidewalk.  It’s really quite liberating (for both of us).

3.  I’m So Green!

I’ve always been a bit of a tree-hugger but lacking a car gives me serious hippie points.  It feels good to know that I’m not really leaving much of a carbon footprint when I go out and about and I’m glad to do what I can to make this city a tiny bit easier to breathe in.

4.  No More Tickets

This is a big one.  I have Hereditary Lead Foot Disease and it has caused problems in the past.  I’ve been pulled over many times and though I gave up counting years ago, I would say a safe estimate is somewhere between one and two dozen.  Because of said lead foot, most of those instances have resulted in actual tickets.  I sure don’t miss that panicked adrenaline rush that comes from seeing those flashing lights in a rear view mirror, and I sure don’t miss shelling out money to appease the speeding gods.

5.  No More Road Rage

I never had huge problems dealing with this but I did notice my rage increased the more I did city driving.  Now I can calmly walk along, laughing at those poor drivers stuck in hours worth of traffic.  Speaking of traffic, this is something I almost never have to deal with now.  Sure, I might get stuck in a bit on the bus, but I can always hop off and walk instead.  In fact, there are many times when I’m walking home and keep pretty much neck and neck with the traffic flow.  I can see how much this pisses people off while they sit in their cars, and I can only smile.

6.  No Worries About Wrecks

I’ve seen more than a few accidents while walking around and I am so happy I no longer have to concern myself with some idiot messing with my car.  Obviously, Santa already took care of that.  I also never have to worry about leaving my car someplace after a night of drinking, because as long as I can walk I can get myself home.  Actually, as long as I give my address to a cabbie I can get myself home.  How sweet it is.

7.  More Time to Stop and Smell the Roses

Not literally.  Well, there are a few pockets of flora that I stop to sniff but for the most part, the city doesn’t smell all that great.  Nonetheless, lacking a vehicle has given me opportunity to take my time as I get myself around.  I notice things on foot that I would likely fail to see in a car.  Also, I’m able to enjoy all those great people watching moments on the public transit – if you’ve read those posts, you know they provide quality stuff.

8.  I’m Actually Getting Exercise

Yup, I’ve inadvertently lost some weight now that I live in the city.  I walk a lot, at least a mile a day and sometimes four or five times that.  I wasn’t trying to drop the pounds but it happened and I’m not complaining.  Well, it would be nice if my pants fit better but that’s about it.  It’s also pretty convenient to have a built in exercise regimen that I can adhere to without planning or thought.

9.  No Parking Woes

I’ve been in situations where I’ve driven for hours, just trying to find parking in this blasted city.  This is no longer a concern to me and I really, really enjoy that.

10.  Seriously, I’m Saving So Much Money

I figured I’d bring this list full circle.  I know I’ve already mentioned it but I cannot imagine dishing out hundreds of dollars a month on car related activities.  It sort of worries me because if I’m ever in a situation where I need to buy a car again, I might just be too cheap to do it.  I guess only time will tell.

All in all, I think I owe drunk Santa.  And I also hope I never encounter a drunk Santa, ever again.

Leave a Reply

