Friday Round-Up

May 7, 2010 at 1:56 pm (Uncategorized) (, , , , , , , , )


Fridays seem to be fast becoming the busiest day of my work week, which sucks because all I really want to do is sit and daydream about my weekend.  I suppose shit happens.  As usual, my head is all over the place at the moment and I’m sure that will reflect in this here post.  In fact, I’m just going to embrace the randomness and go with it.

I finished reading H.G. Wells The War of the Worlds this week.  It was short but took me an unreasonably long amount of time to get through, which I attribute mostly to a dry writing style.  The story was good though and I can see how it would severely mess with the heads of people at the end of the 1800’s, when it was published.  Unfortunately, I think I’ve become much too jaded by horror stories of today (as well as actual news stories) to be scared much by this old book.  Well, almost – I admit to getting goosebumps once or twice and I think there was one point where I gasped and grabbed at my heart.  Perhaps I’m not as jaded as I like to think.

Also this week, I encountered a story about a guy in (possibly) Britain who married his dying pet cat.  I’m not even going to link it or say anything other than that, because I think it’s the highest form of bullshit when some dopey dude can marry an animal while same-sex couples are still being denied that right.  Just sayin’.

Moving on…in case you weren’t aware, this Sunday is Mother’s Day.  I give thanks every day that I don’t have any rug rats of my own and every month when my period comes I can’t help but think about the song Another One Bites the Dust.  That being said, I truly admire all of you out there who have done the whole birth and child-raising thing – my ovaries salute you.  I can see how mothering is one of the most difficult and thankless jobs in the world and you women amaze me.  This especially goes for my own mother, who hopefully knows by this point how much I really do appreciate and value everything she’s ever done for me.  Well, besides that whole overdosing me with cold medicine on Easter thing.  And the time she told me I’d never be a ballerina because I was too clumsy and she wouldn’t pay for dance class.  And the time she laughed at me when I tried my best to sing Silent Night.  Okay, besides all that I do actually think I’ve been extremely blessed in the whole mother department and if you haven’t…well, my mom is a good one and I’m sure she would love to be a surrogate.  Having my mom for a mom means surprise cards in the mail, packages with candy around all candy-centered holidays, perfect gifts at the most opportune times (my new living room lamp is awesome), a built-in phone buddy to chat with on long walks home and someone who brags to complete strangers about how awesome you are.  She also never beats me with bunches of hangers, so that’s a plus.  My mom is the best and I wish I could be around her to give her the Mother’s Day she deserves.  Hopefully the world’s largest card that I put in the mail will suffice.

Other bits of random…

I saw a man and woman hugging yesterday on the train platform, and the man had a crazy long goatee going on.  As I watched, he held it down so he could flatten it against his lady friend’s head and rest on her comfortably.  It had to have been itchy for her and I couldn’t decide if his motion was sweet or kind of creepy.  The jury is still out on that one.

I got my ceiling fan!  It has lights and settings and everything, and I’ve spent every night this week pretending I’m a Southern Belle trying to rid herself of the vapors.  It worked so well that I fell asleep on my couch at like 8:30 last night.  Vapors be gone!

My cell phone is still smarter than I am.  In fact, it’s figured out how to answer calls that I’ve deliberately decided to avoid.  If it keeps this up I’m simply going to start ignoring it altogether, until its genius cell phone brain becomes so lonely in its isolation that it once again acts exactly how I want it to.

I think I’ve developed an unhealthy addiction to the White Bean Basil Hummus from Trader Joe’s.  It’s been coming on for a while now but I feel I’m slowly losing control.  I put this stuff on every wrap I make for lunch and then proceed to dip dozens of pretzels in it as I eat my wrap.  I know hummus is good for you and all but when it makes up 2/3 of my daily diet, it seems cause for concern.  I could eat an entire tub of this stuff daily, if I tried.  Hell, I would swim in a giant tub of this stuff if someone would let me.  Hmm.  Surely there’s some fetishist out there that would actually pay me to do this.  Perhaps my addiction will serve a purpose after all.

Okay.  I’ve wandered off into the land of swimming in hummus for sexual pleasure and/or cash money so I think that’s my cue to quit writing.  Happy Weekend and I hope the mental images I’ve provided here today don’t disturb you too much!

Leave a Reply

